English Research Guide: English Short Title Catalogue and Related Text Collections
English Short Title Catalogue
This database provides bibliographic information for over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America. This material is from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Many entries provide cross-references to microfilm collections where a copy of the item can be retrieved. Some are also available as text documents in the EEBO-TCP collection (see below).
Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP)
Search across approximately 65,000 texts from the EEBO-TCP text creation project. These carefully transcribed and encoded texts from the Early English Books collections covering the earliest printed works in English through the 17th century are jointly owned and funded by over 150 libraries worldwide and are released to the public domain for anyone to use. Works were chosen for transcription based on their inclusion in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. Within the NCBEL listings, priority was given to first editions and works in English. More information about EEBO-TCP.
See also:
Eighteenth Century Collections Online -Text Creation Partnership (ECCO-TCP) - Searchable collection of text files of over 2,000 English texts from the 18th century. More information about ECCO-TCP.
Evans Early American Imprint Collection Online -Text Creation Partnership (Evans-TCP) - This searchable database offers text files for about 5,000 titles from listed in the Evans bibliography of American imprints. More information about Evans-TCP.
Text Collections on Microfilm
- Early American ImprintsThis collection is based on Charles Evans’ bibliography, American Bibliography: A chronological dictionary of all books, pamphlets, and periodical publications printed in the United States of America from the genesis of printing in 1639 down to and including the year 1820. This bibliography (REF.Z1212.E92) actually covers the period 1639-1800, not 1820 as suggested in the title. The microprint edition of the complete text of every existent book, pamphlet, and broadside printed in the United States includes more than 42,000 titles obtained from major libraries such as Library of Congress, Harvard, and Yale. Although Evans lists serial titles, only non-serial titles are included in the microprint collection.
- Early English Books I & IIThese microfilm collections (also known as STC I and STC II) are comprised of the works listed in the Short-Title Catalogue of English Books 1475 – 1640 (also known as Pollard & Redgrave) and the Short Title Catalogue 1641 – 1700 (also known as Wing), respectively. Early English Books I aims to reproduce all books in any language printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales and all books in English printed elsewhere through 1640. Early English Books II covers the same material for the period1641 – 1700 and includes work printed in British America as well.
UNO owns the following reels:
Early English Books I 163 – 516, 775 – 816, 982 – 1979 (through unit 61)
Early English Books II 80 – 1493 (through unit 52) - Eighteenth Century Sources for English Lit and CultureThis is a selected collection of works relevant to the literary, artistic and cultural milieu of eighteenth century England. Included are works of literary criticism, philosophy and related fields as well as original texts. This collection includes primary sources on the philosophy of literature and language, rhetoric, theory and ethical concerns in relation to literature. It covers the historical, philosophical and aesthetic study of literature.