Skip to main content

Education: Indexes and Directories

Resources available at the Earl K. Long Library for the study of education.

Indexes

  • Education Index.  Wilson. 1929- .

This monthly publication cites articles from over 400 English-language education related periodicals. The paper version of this index was discontinued after 1996, but this remains the only index in the field for retrospective searching of the literature since the ERIC database began in 1966. 

Periodical Shelves L 11.E264

College Directories

  • College Navigator College Navigator is your direct link to nearly 7,000 colleges and universities in the United States. If you are thinking about a large university, a small liberal arts college, a specialized college, a community college, a career or technical college or a trade school, you can find information on all of them here.
  • College Blue Book 35th ed. 2008. Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.

A portion of the Peterson's Guide is available through the web at http://www.petersons.com.

This website has over 49,000 listings of graduate school programs searchable by subject or by school.

School Directories

Search for Public School Districts    Use the Search For Public School Districts locator to retrieve information on all U.S. public school districts. This data is collected annually directly from State Education Agencies (SEAs

Search for Public Schools  Use the Search For Public Schools locator to retrieve information on all U.S. public schools. This data is collected annually directly from State Education Agencies (SEAs).

Search for Private Schools  The data for this search tool comes directly from the 30,000 plus private schools that responded to the 2003-2004 Private School Universe Survey (PSS) conducted by the National Center for Education Statistics.

 

  • Louisiana School Directory, 2011/12.

Divided into two sections. Section 1 gives information on the Louisiana Department of Education, including names, phone numbers, and addresses of the members of the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of Regents, Board of Trustees, Board of Supervisors of LSU, Southern, House and Senate Standing Committees on Education, and Department of Education staff. Also includes information on special schools, effective schools, adult education programs, technical institutes, GED Test Centers, Louisiana colleges and universities, organizations and associations related to education, special schools, proprietary schools, etc. Section II gives information on public/nonpublic education, including the names, phone numbers and addresses of Louisiana  parish/city school districts' superintendents and central office staff, along with useful information on public schools located within each district. Also includes information on professional staff of Catholic Diocesan Schools and all nonpublic schools registered with the Louisiana Department of Education.
http://www.doe.state.la.us/lde/uploads/3597.pdf