Public Administration: Legal/Government Resources
Some Basic Government Resources
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov is the central clearinghouse for open data from the United States federal government. It also provides access to many local government and non-federal open data resources.
- FedstatsFedStats was removed from the US Government website in February 2018. It is unknown whether or not it will be restored. FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
- GovinfoGPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information in a digital form. FDsys will enable GPO to manage information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. This system is not yet complete. GPO continues to work to expand the information available in this resource.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAn index to print and electronic publications created by federal agencies. Links are provided to full-text material if available. Coverage of federal publications in this database starts with 1994.
- DOE Energy Citations DatabaseContains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and bibliographic records of literature in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines.
- Office of Management and Budget, White HouseThe core mission of OMB is to serve the President of the United States in implementing his vision across the Executive Branch. OMB is the largest component of the Executive Office of the President. It reports directly to the President and helps a wide range of executive departments and agencies across the Federal Government to implement the commitments and priorities of the President.
- Historical Statistics of the United States – Millennial EditionThe standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource includes over 37,000 data series. The new millennial edition has dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty.
- PubMedA service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
- Science.govScience.gov enables you to search two kinds of information - selected Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles and other published materials.
- USA.govAs the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.
Legal Resources
- Congress.govCongress.gov supersedes the THOMAS system which was retired on July 5, 2016. Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
- CQ Historic Documents OnlinePublished annually since 1972, the UNO Library collection of the Historic Documents Series contains 43 volumes of primary sources, ending with 2015. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- Federal JudiciaryInformation about the judicial branch of the United States. Includes links to the websites for the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the U.S. District Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts.
- Legal SourceLegal Source is an upgrade to Legal Collection. Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Source offers full text for more than 1,100 of the world's best law journals as far back as 1965.It has detailed indexing for legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications including ore than 420 law reviews.
Legal Source contains over 2.3 million records, including book reviews and case studies. - Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - WexCornell University Law School A collaboratively-edited legal dictionary and encyclopedia created and maintained by the Cornell University Law School.