Physics: Articles/Databases
Have Questions? Please Ask!
Don't struggle with questions. If your library liaison isn't immediately available, no worries. :)
Ask at our Services Desk on the 1st floor, or give us a call at (504) 280-6355
Alternatively, you can email us at libref@uno.edu!
Research Consultations
Research consultations are available to every student by appointment.
Who wouldn't want a 60-90 minute appointment focused on your project? Email me using the link in my profile box --> to request a consult. Before your appointment, I will ask for a description of your project, due date, and what you hope to gain from the session. I will then tailor the session to your immediate research needs and offer follow-up help or appointments, as needed.
Research problems fixed by appointment. :)
Related Databases
- CompendexCovers the whole spectrum of Engineering disciplines. Contains over 5 million references with 500,000 added annually from 5,000 journals, conferences and technical reports.
- Oceanic AbstractsCitations to technical articles on physical oceanography, geology, meteorology, non-living resources, marine biology, fisheries, and aquaculture plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
- Academic Search CompleteA large general database containing citations to both popular and scholarly articles about an enormous range of topics (not just science!). Articles found from this database will likely be less specialized than those found in science-specific databases.
Primary Databases
- Science Citation Index This link opens in a new windowThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- ScitationPartial full text access to a variety of the American Institute of Physics journals
- ArXiv.orgOver 1m articles in physics, engineering, compter science and more. Not peer-reviewed at this site.
- INSPIREHigh energy particle physics archive. Some OA content, the remainder is by subscription or Interlibrary loan.
- Science & Technology CollectionThe Science & Technology Collection contains over 820 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 publications.
Information Literacy Librarian
When You Don't Have Access--Use Interlibrary Loan
Many databases will offer you a link to the full text, but it isn't always available in every database.
Tried to find the full-text, but it isn't immediately available?
There are several options, in that case. Here's the path to finding that full text article:
1) Check our catalog and find the journal in print. Using the citation from the database (you can often email yourself the full citation, sometimes in your preferred citation style), you can search the catalog and locate the item in the 2nd floor Periodical stacks. Copiers are located on the 1st and 2nd floors.
If you find that UNO does not own the book or article you need, then you can use UNO's Interlibrary Loan service. Click on 'First Time Users' to create your personal account. Typical transit times are 7-10 days for printed materials and 1-4 days for online items.
For help in searching, finding and using complete citations and questions about how to obtain materials, chat with a librarian online or contact me, Hannah White at 504-280-6548 and jwhite15@uno.edu.