Music Research Guide: Find Recorded Music

Use the UNO Library Online Catalog to search for compact discs owned by the UNO Library.  You can search by composer (use author search) or title of the CD.  The contents of the CD may also be searchable.   Use the keyword search to search contents.
When you find a CD that you want to check out, note the Call number (example COMPACT DISC 2001:0056).  Request the CD using the COMPACT DISC number, at the Library Services Desk on the first floor.

Vinyl Record Collections
The records in these collections do not normally circulate, but they can be used in the Library (turntables are available in the Listening Room (carrel 38) on the second floor). Patrons must ask the staff at the Public Services Desk on the first floor to obtain these recordings and the headphones necessary to listen to them. We have six distinct collections:

"Regular" collection, most of which is included in our online catalog. Patrons may also use the large card catalog file, located in room 209, to find the artists, albums, and individual songs they are looking for. If you would like to limit your search of the online catalog to vinyl recordings, select "Audio Disc" from the "format type" pull-down menu under the Advanced Search screen.

The Nozaki Collection, with over 700 titles, mostly jazz. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

The Noble Collection, over 1800 recordings, mostly jazz and vocalists. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

The Palmisano Collection, featuring over 1400 recordings, primarily Broadway and movie musicals before 1990. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

The Coker Collection, with over 700 recordings; mostly jazz but some classical. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.

The Von der Haar Collection, with over 3000 recordings; mostly classical with an emphasis on opera recordings. You may search this online guide to find items from this collection.