This is the "Introduction to the UNO Film Archives" page of the "Using the UNO Film Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Let us know what you think about creating a Digital Media Lab in the Earl K. Long Library. Please take our survey.
Earl K. Long Library
  • Find
  • Services
  • Help
  • Collections
  • About
  • Ask-A-Librarian

Using the UNO Film Archives  

The Earl K. Long Library Louisiana and Special Collections Department is home to a significant amount of news footage from two local television stations, WVUE and WDSU, primarily from the late 1960s to the early 1980s.
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uno.edu/content.php?pid=132169 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction to the UNO Film Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 

Questions? Ask us!

Profile Image
Louisiana and Special Collections Department
Contact Info
504-280-6544
Send Email
 

An Introduction to the UNO Film Archives

The Earl K. Long Library Louisiana and Special Collections Department is home to a significant amount of news footage from two local television stations, WVUE and WDSU, primarily from the late 1960s to the early 1980s.

The majority of this footage is recorded on 16mm film, but the two collections also contain a variety of other formats, including 32mm film, 35mm film, Beta cassette tapes, and U-matic cassette tapes.

The WVUE/WDSU collections are unprocessed and an index of the footage is not available.  These materials must be searched manually, box by box, and therefore can be extremely time consuming to research.

Contact Information for WDSU and WVUE

  • WDSU-TV
    WDSU News Channel 6
    846 Howard Avenue
    New Orleans, LA 70113
    Phone: (504) 679-0600
  • WVUE-TV
    Fox 8 WVUE-TV
    1025 S. Jefferson Davis Parkway
    New Orleans, LA 70125
    Phone: (504) 486-6161
New Orleans skyline
fdlp logo
construction sawhorserenovation update spacer

Copyright © 2011. Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148. (504) 280-6549. Comments/Suggestions


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip