Skip to main content

Digital Collections at the Earl K. Long Library: Citing Digital Collections

Digitized collections from the holdings of the Earl K. Long Library Louisiana and Special Collections.

Citing Sources from our Digital Collections

Citation Elements

Citing an object from one of UNO's digital collections may depend on the style manual you are using, but a citation will generally contain the following elements:

  • [Creator]
  • [Date of Creation]
  • [Object / Item / Image Title]
  • [Collection Name]
  • [Repository Name]
  • [Date Accessed]
  • Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans. New Orleans, LA
  • [Citable URL] (see below)

For example, here are the names of some repositories where UNO digital collections reside:

  

Citable URL: 

In the LOUISiana Digital Library, look for the "Reference URL" link to get the proper URL for your citation. Please also link to the item where possible and appropriate if writing for the Web. 

In the Historical Archives of the Supreme Court of Louisiana, please use the URL in your browser's address bar. Do not use the link beginning with http://hdl.handle.net. UNO has not currently implemented handles, so the handle.net link will not work.

In ScholarWorks, please see the "Recommended Citation" section on the page of the document you want to cite.

  

Style Guidelines:

For more style-specific guidelines (APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, etc.), consult the excellent Purdue OWL website. If you are unsure what an item, a collection, or a repository should be called, please contact us for assistance.

Search other Libraries' Collections

Need to find archival collections on a topic and not having any luck with UNO's collections?

Check some of the resources listed in the guide Finding Primary Sources and Digital Collections on the Web.

Digital Initiatives Librarian

Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

New Orleans, LA 70148

504.280.6547
New Orleans skyline

fdlp logo Contact Us | Give to the Library | Staff Access
UNO Home | Student E-Mail | WebStar | Moodle | Directory | University Alert System |