Skip to main content

Microfilm Research Collections: Colonial Williamsburg Research Collections

Colonial Williamsburg Research Collections

Location: The 122 fiche in this collection are filed in a binder on the Multimedia Index Table.

Scope: A major center for research on early American history, the library of Colonial Williamsburg has acquired a large number of important manuscript collections through the years and has regularly had them filmed as a security and preservation measure. At the same time, it has acquired microform copies of many collections in its field held by other institutions. These collections range from state and local official government documents to family papers, music books, playbills, and other materials. This inventory allows scholars to learn quickly and economically what manuscripts are available in Williamsburg. Scholars of colonial American history will find the fiche indispensable for locating any of the approximately 130 Williamsburg collections.

How to search the collection: The fiche collection is accompanied by a printed title guide that includes a short introductory essay by the collection’s editor. This paperback guide is shelved next to the binder which contains this fiche collection.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Librarian

Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

New Orleans, LA 70148

504.280.6547
New Orleans skyline

fdlp logo Contact Us | Give to the Library | Staff Access
UNO Home | Student E-Mail | WebStar | Moodle | Directory | University Alert System