Skip to main content

Microfilm Research Collections: Early American Newspapers

Early American Newspapers

Location: Microprint Shelves M-28 and M-29 (ask at the Circulation Desk for access).

Scope: The Early American Newspaper collection complements Evans’ Early American Imprints' series. Readex centered its publishing effort on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, focusing primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820. The core of the collection is formed by Isaiah Thomas' own collection of colonial and early national period newspapers and supplemented by nearly 2 million issues added by Thomas' successors at the American Antiquarian Society. Numerous other institutions and historical societies have contributed to the collection including: the Boston Athenaeum, the Connecticut Historical Society, the Library Company of Philadelphia, the Library of Congress, the libraries of universities such as Brown and Harvard, and private collections.

How to search the collection: The individual newspaper titles in this collection may be found in the online catalog but can not be searched by series title. The newspapers in this microprint collection are in blue boxes on shelves M-28 & 29 and are arranged in alphabetical order on these shelves. If more than one title is included in the box, they are filed by this first title.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Librarian

Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

New Orleans, LA 70148

504.280.6547
New Orleans skyline

fdlp logo Contact Us | Give to the Library | Staff Access
UNO Home | Student E-Mail | WebStar | Moodle | Directory | University Alert System |