Skip to main content

Microfilm Research Collections: Slavery Source Materials

Slavery Source Materials

Location: Microfiche Cabinet 40-10.

Scope: This collection assembles key documents about slavery in America from its beginnings through the Civil War. Topics include the abolition movement, living and working conditions, the slave trade, the Fugitive Slave Act, travelers’ reports, religious debates, anti-slave tracts, history of slavery and more. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, William Lloyd Garrison, Phyllis Wheatley, Harriet Beecher Stowe, William Ellery Channing, and Charles Sumner.

How to search the collection:
The 438 titles in this collection are individually cataloged and can be found in the online catalog. In order to get the series number for a particular title, check the series statement in the catalog record (in parentheses). The fiche are in order by this number. The microforms card catalog in the Multimedia Collection also has author cards for the items in this collection. The series number can also be found here in parentheses on the card. To get a list of all titles in this collection, from the advanced search screen in iLink type “slavery source materials” in the series box and click on search. You will get a list of all books in this collection.



Your Friendly Neighborhood Librarian

Jeanne Pavy
Contact:
Room 205

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

New Orleans, LA 70148

504.280.6547
New Orleans skyline

fdlp logo Contact Us | Give to the Library | Staff Access
UNO Home | Student E-Mail | WebStar | Moodle | Directory | University Alert System |