Skip to main content

Access and Reference Services Specialist

POSITION DESCRIPTION

EARL K. LONG LIBRARY,

UNIVERSITY OF NEW ORLEANS

 

 

POSITION:  Access and Reference Services Specialist

REPORTS TO: Head, Library Services Division

DATE: 10/1/2019

 

Position Summary

The Earl K. Long Library seeks an energetic, service-oriented and collaborative Access and Reference Services Specialist. This is a 12-month full-time paraprofessional position reporting to the Head of Library Services. The ideal candidate will be responsible for the provision of an innovative access services environment including circulation, course reserves, interlibrary loan services, and stacks maintenance. This position monitors trends and recommends emerging technologies for access services. Maintains online access services user guides and implements software updates. Supports information literacy initiatives through instruction and other activities as assigned. Responsible for participating in the training of full-time, part-time, and student access services staff when necessary. Collects and maintains statistical data related to reference interactions, the use of the building, circulation and resource sharing activities. Assists the Head of Library Services in the annual evaluation process of Library Services staff.

 

About the Earl K. Long Library

The University of New Orleans is a national research university with a rich diversity of students and academic programs. Enrollment is growing with over 8,000 students attending fall 2019 classes. The Earl K. Long Library, situated in the heart of the campus, provides key resources and services to support the learning and research needs of the campus community. The Library houses collections, group and individual study spaces, electronic classrooms, and computer facilities. The Library is open 24 hours Sunday through Friday during the regular semesters to provide the UNO community premium access to these rich learning spaces. Library faculty and staff are actively engaged in providing a positive learning and research experience for Library users.

 

Responsibilities

  • Provides innovative and in-depth customer service and reference training to library faculty and staff.
  • Keeps abreast of key general reference tools, including both subscription library databases and freely available web resources.
  • Schedules and participates in reference on call hours, reference email, and chat coverage.
  • Tracks reference/interaction statistics.
  • Manages LibInsight.
  • Facilitates discussion of ideas to improve/modify access services.
  • Works with the library staff and campus partners to update access services policies and procedures and resolve problems related to access services.
  • Edits, evaluates and generates content pertaining to Library Access Services for the Library website.
  • Provides information literacy instruction to first year students and assigned discipline specific instruction.
  • Participates in assigned library outreach activities.
  • Provide interlibrary loan/document delivery usage and trend statistics to the liaison librarians.
  • Ensure timely processing of interlibrary lending requests received from other libraries via OCLC ILLiad and other resource sharing systems.
  • Serves as the UNO representative to the LOUIS consortium for interlibrary loan and document delivery.
  • In consultation with the Head and Library Administration establishes the yearly building schedule.
  • Assists the Head in the annual staff evaluation process.
  • Works flexible hours. Will work some weekends and evenings as needed.

 

QUALIFICATIONS:

Required:
ALA-accredited MLS/MLIS or equivalent degree; at least one year of experience in interlibrary loan; demonstrated supervisory experience; expertise using resource sharing software, discovery tools, and Microsoft Office Suite; familiarity with copyright law and "fair use" guidelines applicable to libraries; demonstrated ability to provide access to information, resources, and materials by using specialized knowledge of electronic databases, computer applications, and reference tools; demonstrated experience providing library instruction; knowledge of emerging technologies and trends in reference services; experience using an integrated library system including circulation and reports functions;  excellent communication and interpersonal skills;  collaborative approach to problem solving and working across organizational boundaries to accomplish organizational objectives; Flexible and adaptable; ability to exercise good judgment in interpreting rules; ability to work productively with diverse groups in an urban academic setting; ability to work with online screen displays/small print, and physically move books and book trucks; willingness to support the Library and University Mission.

Desired:  
Experience with ILLiad, Odyssey, Excel and full-text document delivery services;  experience with Springshare Suite of products including Libguides, LibInsight, etc.; three years of supervisory experience; experience with Sirsi/Dynix integrated library system;  experience with makerspaces in libraries; experience in STEM (or science) subject areas; instruction experience in an academic environment.

Salary

Commensurate with experience

Closing Date

Position will remain open until filled. Review of applications will begin October 28.

To Apply

Please apply through the UNO website at http://www.uno.edu/careers/23171