Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4531/5531: Find Articles & Reviews

Print Indexes for older journal content

  •  Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (print edition covers 1900 - 2000)  Periodicals AI3 .R4

  • Film Literature Index (1973-1988) Periodicals PN1993 .F5514

  • Magill's Survey of Cinema
    reviews numerous films from the early 1900s to about 1980
    English Language Films   PN1993.45 .M3
    Foreign Language Films   PN1993.45 .M34 1985

Scholarly Articles

Film & Television Literature Index -- This definitive index to film and television topics indexes several hundred journals, with some full-text available. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.  Popular and scholarly sources.

Academic Search Complete -- This database indexes and provides some full-text articles for a variety of popular and scholarly journals and magazines. Popular and scholarly sources.

MLA Bibliography -- Coverage: indexes about 3000 journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies pertaining to criticism, drama, folklore, and modern (not ancient) languages and literature. Years covered: 1963 - present. Scholarly sources only.

Google Scholar -  Google search engine focusing on scholarly publications

Reviews in Newspapers and Magazines

Use these library indexes to look up movie reviews published in the popular media (in some cases the review will be available directly from the database) Typing in key words from the title and using the limiting options in the database to limit you search to reviews will retrieve relevant results.

Film & Television Literature Index
This definitive index to film and television topics indexes several hundred journals, with some full-text available. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. 
Popular and scholarly sources.

Academic Search Complete
This database indexes and provides some full-text articles for a variety of popular and scholarly journals and magazines. 
Popular and scholarly sources.

LexisNexis Academic: News
Coverage: Full-text book, movie, play and music reviews from a range of magazine and newspaper sources (including the New York Times.) Chronological coverage for specific publications varies, but is generally limited to the last 10-20 years.

America's News (Newsbank)
This full-text database includes local, regional and national news sources, including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and news magazines. 
Chronological coverage for specific publications varies, but is generally limited to the last 10-20 years.

New York Times Historical Archive
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Excludes the latest three years of publication.