Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4531/5531: Find Background Information

Guides

A Short Guide to Writing About Film (7th ed) -- PN1995 .C66 2010

Biographical Information

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers -- This 4-volume work provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.

Biography in Context -- In addition to biographical articles, this database provides links to newspaper and magazine articles, websites and other sources about important figures in a variety of professions.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film -- This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers -- This 4-volume work provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.

Dictionary of Film Terms: The Aesthetic Companion to Film Art -- PN1993.45 .B33 2007