Let us know what you think about creating a Digital Media Lab in the Earl K. Long Library. Please take our survey.|
Resources available through the Earl K. Long Library for the study of Biology.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014
- Biological Abstracts 1969 -- present
Search here for articles about almost any life sciences topic. New citations are added frequently, and you can search for articles in over 4,000 journals, and as far back as 1969. A good place to start your Biology research.
Focuses on medical information, but is also a great source of citations to articles about cellular and molecular biology, biochemistry, nursing & veterinary sciences, and public health. MEDLINE can also be searched via PubMed (a free service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health), but using the EBSCO interface available from this page will give you more links to full-text journals in your results.
- Web of Science
Contains citations to articles from all scientific disciplines. You can search by topic, author, and title, and also by citation (i.e., look up which other articles and authors have cited an article you know about). Also called the "Science Citation Index".
- Academic Search Complete
A large general database containing citations to both popular and scholarly articles about an enormous range of topics (not just science!). Articles found from this database will likely be less specialized than those found in science-specific databases.
A database of citations to articles about agriculture and related topics, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, food and nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL provides citations to Nursing and Allied Health articles. Full text is available for over 750 journals and over 240 books and monographs. Can also be a good source of medical and public health information.
- Fish Base
FishBase is a global species database of fish species (specifically finfish). It is the largest and most extensively accessed online database on adult finfish on the web.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that contains citations to journal articles mostly in science, technology and medicine. If you use this link to Google Scholar, or set your Google Scholar preferences to include UNO, it will provide links to full-text articles courtesy of the UNO Library.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides citations to Nursing, Allied Health and Medical articles.
- Oceanic Abstracts
Citations to technical articles on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Scifinder Scholar
Lets you find Chemistry articles and patents, including biochemistry and organic chemistry. You must first register on campus before using SciFinder Scholar.
Toxicology and environmental information from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Includes TOXLINE (Toxicology Literature Online), HSDB (Hazardous Substance Data Bank), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology), DART (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology), TRI (Toxic Release Inventory), and ChemIDplus, a free database of over 370,000 chemical compounds.