Library Services for UNO Faculty: Home

Information Literacy

• Information Literacy program: https://libguides.uno.edu/Information-Literacy
• Schedule a session for your class: https://libguides.uno.edu/Information-Literacy/schedule
• Questions? Johannah White (jwhite15@uno.edu) or (504) 280-6548

Course Reserves

• We are trying to minimize the amount of physical material made available through Course Reserves.  If you want to ensure that your students have access to material assigned in class, please email libreserve@uno.edu with a list of the titles and/or sections you want to make available and we will work with you to find a way share the content electronically.  Physical items will be placed on reserve only as a last resort.  
• Questions?  Email libreserve@uno.edu

Alternatives to Traditional Textbooks

• Assistance in identifying and adapting Open Educational Resources and other affordable content: http://libguides.uno.edu/affordablelearninguno
• Questions?  Jeanne Pavy or Johannah White

Streaming Video

• If you are planning to assign a film in your course, the library may be able to license a streaming version. Contact Lindsey Reno, the Acquisitions Librarian, to request purchase of a title to be assigned in class or if you have other questions about the availability of a particular film.

Technology in the Library

• Poster printing, 3D printing, walk-up scanning, digital media PCs, and more: http://libguides.uno.edu/tech
• Innovation Lab: http://libguides.uno.edu/innovationlab
• Questions?  Lora Amsberryaugier (lamsberr@uno.edu) or (504) 280-5563

Room requests

• Several meeting rooms are available by reservation: https://libguides.uno.edu/request-forms/request-meeting-room
• Questions? Johannah White (jwhite15@uno.edu) or (504) 280-6548.

Access to library databases, catalog, e-journals, e-books, etc.

• Start with search box on library website:  http://library.uno.edu
• OneSearch combines the library catalog with many databases, or search the catalog or a particular database separately, using the tabs above the search box

Off-campus access to library resources

• The Library uses the same login procedure for accessing electronic resources (databases, e-books, e-journals) that you use to get to UNO email, Webstar, etc. 
• If you need an electronic copy of something in our stacks, try our Scan on Demand service. Questions? Email libill@uno.edu or call 504-280-7276

UNO Library Stacks are OPEN but Mediated Book Borrowing Still Available

• If you need a book from the UNO Library, you may retrieve it from the shelves yourself or use the "Hold" feature in the online catalog.  If you opt to place a "Hold" the book will be pulled for you and you will be notified when it's available for pick-up at the Library Services Desk. 
• More information here:https://libguides.uno.edu/remote-checkout

Borrowing from other libraries

• Interlibrary Loan – articles, books, etc. delivered: http://libguides.uno.edu/interlibrary
• Questions? Email libill@uno.edu or call 504-280-7276

Research Assistance

• Contact the librarian for your department: http://libguides.uno.edu/sub_liaisons
• See our general reference page: http://libguides.uno.edu/reference

Request items (books, DVDs, etc.)  to be purchased by Library:

• Contact the librarian for your department: http://libguides.uno.edu/sub_liaisons
• OR, use the Book Purchase Request form

Open Access publishing

• ScholarWorks@uno.edu is an OA platform for sharing research and scholarship, including journals, conferences, reports, and more.
• Questions?  Jeanne Pavy (jpavy@uno.edu) or (504) 280-6547

Data Management

• Support for data sharing & data management plans: http://libguides.uno.edu/datamanagement
• Questions?  Jeanne Pavy (jpavy@uno.edu) or (504) 280-6547

Special Collections & Archives

• Hours, policies, searchable list of collections: http://libguides.uno.edu/special
• Questions?  libspec@uno.edu