- Abe L. Shushan Collection
(On-Site Access Only)
The Abe L. Shushan Collection contains nearly 750 items including scrapbooks, photographs, and personal memorabilia of the former president of the Orleans Levee Board, under whose direction the Lake Pontchartrain sea wall and New Orleans Lakefront Airport were constructed. A close friend and associate of Huey P. Long, Abe L. Shushan was an influential and controversial public figure in the Louisiana political landscape during the 1920s and 1930s.
- Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection
This collection contains postcards depicting scenes of New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Covington, La.; the Mississippi Gulf Coast; and various cities in the United States and Canada. Holiday greetings and postcards on other subjects are also included.
- Charles V. Booth Collection: New Orleans Carnival Truck Parade Photos
Photographs of New Orleans Carnival truck parades, primarily the Elks Krewe of Orleanians and the Elks Krewe of Jeffersonians, from the 1950s-1970s. Materials were donated to the Earl K. Long Library by Charles V. Booth (b. 1923), a collector of Mardi Gras, truck, and doubloon history. Due to potential copyright restrictions, photos may only be viewed on the UNO campus.
- Frank B. Moore Photograph Collection
The Frank Moore Collection contains nearly 550 negatives, most of them glass plates, taken from 1915 to 1950. Well over half of the collection consists of individual and group portraits, many featuring performers in costume, musicians, and local schools.
- Higgins Industries
Digitized diagrams and plans of World War II era boats constructed by Higgins Industries. Currently includes Motor Torpedo Boats (MTB), better known as PT boats.
- Joseph Bauer Family Album
Photographic prints (ca. 1895-1914) of Dr. Joseph Bauer's residence, the French Quarter and Market, Audubon Park, Metairie Cemetery, the Fair Grounds, Newcomb College, Milneburg, the Spanish Fort, West End Park, Mandeville, the bayous and shores of Lake Pontchartrain, and formal portraits of Bauer and his wife, Hortense Villavaso Bauer.
- Judge John Minor Wisdom Collection
Principally includes Carnival ball invitations, admit cards, dance cards, and programs; souvenir booklets; memorabilia of the Young Men's Gymnastic Club and other non-carnival miscellany from the collection of John Minor Wisdom (1905-1999), who was hailed as "a giant among federal judges during the tumultuous years that saw official segregation end in the South and civil rights at last extended to black Americans."
- Louisiana Ephemera at the University of New Orleans
An eclectic collection of Louisiana-related materials not tied to a larger project that may include ephemera, pamphlets, books, and more. New items will be added periodically.
- Louisiana Hurricane Resources
Includes photographs, government documents, and historical reports from 1957 to the present documenting hurricane and tropical storms in South Louisiana.
- Louisiana Photographs Collection
Historic photos compiled from various sources over several years and housed in the Louisiana and Special Collections department of UNO's Earl K. Long Library. Materials generally have some relation to New Orleans or Louisiana. Photos date from the mid-nineteenth century to the 1950s.
- Marcus Christian Collection
The unpublished manuscript "The Negro in Louisiana" is a work begun by the Dillard (University) Project in 1942, an arm of the WPA's Federal Writer's Project. After the dissolution of the unit, Marcus Christian maintained and edited the document in hopes of eventual publication. It is reproduced here as an annotated transcript, with original typos, chapters, and paginations preserved.
- Orleans Parish School Board Meeting Minutes
Meeting minutes from the Orleans Parish School Board and its predecessors document the history of public education in and around New Orleans as far back as the 1840s. This is an ongoing digitization project, and more volumes will be added as they are digitized. Additionally, a pilot project funded by a Board of Regents Grant allowed scholars from UNO's Midlo Center for New Orleans Studies to index more than 900 pages of meeting minutes. That searchable index has been incorporated into this database, and it is hoped that further indexing or transcription can be undertaken in the future.
- Orleans Parish School Board Meeting Minutes -- Indexes
Scans of print A-Z indexes to meeting minutes of the Orleans Parish School Board. (See above link to scans of the minutes themselves.) An ongoing project. More volumes will be added as they are digitized.
The University of New Orleans acts as a Community Archive for StoryCorps interviews recorded in Louisiana in 2006 and 2010. These recordings were generously provided by StoryCorps. Audio may only be accessed on the UNO campus, but the database of interview information may be searched anywhere.
- Telling-Grandon Scrapbook
The Telling-Grandon Scrapbook is a 28-page scrapbook/diary containing photographs and ephemera collected by an Evanston, Illinois group during a visit by train to the New Orleans Carnival of 1903. The New Orleans section includes brief references to Begue's Restaurant, Fabacher's Restaurant, Christ Church, Metairie Cemetery, St. Roch Cemetery, Tulane University, the French Opera, the U.S. Mint, the Young Men's Gymnastic Club, U.S. and French battleships in port, Royal Street, the French Market, and the Rex and Proteus parades.
- U.S. House and Senate Committee Hearings and Publications
- University of New Orleans 25th Anniversary Interviews
To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the founding of UNO, the Earl K. Long Oral History Committee conducted audio and videotaped interviews with university professors, administrators, and students who reviewed events concerned with the early years of the institution.