AccountingEconomicsFinanceHospitality, Restaurant & TourismManagementMarketing
ArtCommunicationsDrama/FilmForeign LanguagesLiteraturePhilosophyMusicReligion
BiochemistryBiologyChemistryComputer ScienceGeologyMathematicsPsychologyHealthPhysicsStatistics
AnthropologyGeographySociologyWomen's StudiesLawPolitical ScienceLibrary ScienceHistoryUrban Studies
Biographical WorksDictionaries/EncyclopediasBook ReviewsDirectoriesTheses/DissertationsNewspapers
This is the "A" page of the "A-Z and Subject Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Let us know what you think about creating a Digital Media Lab in the Earl K. Long Library. Please take our survey.
Earl K. Long Library
  • Find
  • Services
  • Help
  • Collections
  • About
  • Ask-A-Librarian

A-Z and Subject Databases   Tags: databases, research, subject searching  

Databases by name and by subject.
If you are off campus you will be prompted for your USERID and PIN to access the database.
Off campus access instructions
Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uno.edu/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

A Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

Assistance is available via email at libref@uno.edu and through the Library's Reference Request form!

You can also call us at (504) 280-6549 or come see us in person at the reference desk in the Learning Commons.

Please check out the Library Hours page for Reference Desk hours.

Chat Reference Policy

A

  • Abstracts in Anthropology
    Abstracts in Anthropology is the only comprehensive abstracting service in the field of anthropology, abstracting articles from several hundred periodicals, with coverage back to 1999. The database covers all anthropological subfields: cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. The abstracted articles include subcultures within industrialized nations and track social welfare issues, drug abuse programs, geriatric caregiver issues, and applied anthropology.
  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology
    This bibliographic database makes essential age-related content readily available for researchers of gerontology. Those interested in the field of geriatrics will benefit from this resource, which includes bibliographic records covering psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to geriatric studies.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
  • Accessible Archives - 1 year free subscription
    This database provides full text access to a diverse range of primary source materials from 18th & 19th century America. The collection includes letters, advertisements, editorials, sketches, county records, complete runs of important periodicals and much more. Titles of interest include: The Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, The South Carolina Gazette, Godey's Lady Book, and The North Star.
  • Accounting Research Manager
    (limited to 2 simultaneous users)
    CCH's Accounting Research Manager is the most timely and comprehensive online database of expert-written analytical accounting, auditing, governmental and SEC information as well as primary source data. Updated daily, it provides current, complete and objective resource for your financial reporting needs. Important! You must register on campus with this database before being able to access it from off-campus. Register here: https://intelliconnect.cch.com
  • ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
    A half century of pioneering concepts and fundamental research have been digitized and indexed in a variety of ways in this special collection of works published by ACM since its inception. The ACM Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full texts.
  • Advocate, The (Baton Rouge) America's Historical Newspapers 20th Century
    Earliest issue: July 19, 1925
    Latest issue: December 31, 1985
    Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
  • Advocate, The (Baton Rouge; 1986-current)
    Full text articles from the Baton Rouge, LA, Advocate newspaper.
  • African American Newspapers
    African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
  • Agricola
    This bibliographic database provides more than 2.5 million citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. Coverage for this database dates back to 1979. AGRICOLA offers a variety of source types related to agriculture
  • Alexander Street Press - American Film Scripts Online
    This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
  • Alexander Street Press - Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume 1  
      
    Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals, reports and proceedings, as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the ful
  • America's Historical Newspapers
    The collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers. It currently includes the following three series: Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900 and Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922. Series 2 focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860 and offers several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 250 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. Series 3 focuses on the period between 1861 and 1900, and
  • America's Historical Newspapers: 20th Century-Times Picayune
    The Times-Picayune newspaper from its earliest issues to 1988.
    Earliest issue: January 01, 1837
    Latest issue: December 31, 1988
    Note: Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
  • America's Historical Newspapers: The Advocate (Baton Rouge)
    Earliest issue: July 19, 1925
    Latest issue: December 31, 1985
    Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
  • America's News
    Search state, regional and national full-text articles including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event or compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as business, health, education, government, history, politics and more including the Advocate, Times-Picayune and USA Today. (Louisiana newspapers including The Times-Picayune, and The Advocate)
  • America: History and Life
    America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (For coverage of non North American history see Historical Abstracts). AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. The database also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American histo
  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
    Coverage is generally from mid-1990s to the present
  • American FactFinder
    Open access resource for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Includes data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rico Community Survey, the Population Estimates Program, the Economic Census, and then Annual Economic Surveys.
  • American Film Scripts Online
    This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
  • American Hospital Directory
    The American Hospital Directory provides online data for over 6,000 hospitals. The database of information is built from Medicare claims data, cost reports, and other public use files obtained from the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).
  • American Institute of Physics (AIP) Journals
    Full-text access to AIP Journals through the Scitation database.
  • Annual Reviews
    Access authoritative annual reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences
  • Anthropological Index Online
    An index to anthropological Journals (1960s-)
  • Anthrosource
    AnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline.
  • Art Full Text 1984-present  
      
    Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
  • Art Index Retrospective
    A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    Electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present.
  • ArXiv.org e-Prints
    Open access to 646,802 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. (Cornell University)

  • AULIMP (Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals)
    An open access subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously. A comprehensive list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the Historical Index of AULIMP titles.
New Orleans skyline
fdlp logo
construction sawhorserenovation update spacer

Copyright © 2011. Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148. (504) 280-6549. Comments/Suggestions


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip