Skip to main content

Earl K. Long Library Louisiana and Special Collections

Louisiana and Special Collections

**Important Information**

The 4th floor Louisiana and Special Collections Reading Room is closed for renovation work and moving of the collection through mid-January, 2017. A Temporary Reading Room is open by appointment-only through the end of the Library's 4th floor construction project. Please email libspec@uno.edu to request an appointment (Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday).  Appointments should be made at least two business days in advance of the visit.


The Earl K. Long Library's Louisiana and Special Collections contains over 400 manuscript collections, which include records of local businesses, papers of former UNO faculty members and other local figures, New Orleans and Louisiana ephemera, government documents such as the Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Archives, and much, much more. The Reading Room contains books, periodicals, government documents, local city directories, and other materials related to the history and culture of Louisiana, with a special focus on New Orleans.

The Louisiana Collection materials can be found temporarily in the "open stacks" area of the 2nd floor, but a majority of these items are intended for reference-use only and may not be checked out or removed from the reading room. Louisiana Collection theses and dissertations may be checked out by university students and faculty, and are the only exception to this rule.

The Special Collections portion of the Louisiana and Special Collections, houses original archive and manuscript collections, rare books, the UNO Faculty Authors Collection, and original copies of all university theses and dissertations.

Patrons are encouraged to read more about the university's history of diversity in the UNO Archives, browse through the online finding aids for our manuscript collections, or explore our online materials available in the  Louisiana Digital Library.

Exhibits and Visual Materials

Marcus Christian Correspondence

Click on the edge of image to open full size image.

Marcus Christian Correspondence

Marcus Christian Correspondence

New Orleans skyline

fdlp logo Contact Us | Give to the Library | Staff Access
UNO Home | Student E-Mail | WebStar | Moodle | Directory | University Alert System