Skip to main content
- Books/Monographs and all print volumes
The Earl K. Long Library has over 960,000 print volumes on its shelves including books, periodicals, and federal documents. The Library adds on average approximately 3,600 new volumes each year.
- CDs/DVDs in support of the curriculum
The Library has a large collection of curriculum related music CDs (over 2,800) and movie DVDs (over 900) available for checkout.
The Earl K. Long Library maintains over 12,000 current periodical subscriptions, many of which are available
as electronic journals.
- Federal Documents and Louisiana State Documents
The library is a 86% selective depository for federal government information and is one of eight complete depositories for Louisiana state documents.
- The Library has a flickr account for collections of photos and library displays.
- Japanese Culture Book Collection
In 2009, the Nippon Foundation, Tokyo selected the University of New Orleans Earl K. Long Library as a recipient of their "100 Books for Understanding Contemporary Japan" donation program. Connie Phelps, Librarian and Chair, Services Department, wrote the successful application. The books, in English, were selected by experts with extensive knowledge of Japan and provide a basic introduction to contemporary Japan. Earl K. Long Library has gratefully received this collection, which will be used by students and faculty, especially those in the UNO-Japan summer study program.
- Louisiana and Special Collections
The holdings of the Louisiana and Special Collections Department encompass more than 400 manuscript collections and also include an extensive selection of publications and other materials focused on Louisiana.
- Microform Research Collections
Newspaper and journal backfiles are included among our microform collections, which contain a wide variety of materials in the microfilm, microfiche, and microprint formats.
- Multimedia Collections
The Multimedia Collection is the portion of the Library that deals with audio-visual formats, microforms, and the equipment necessary to use these materials. Some materials are available at the Circulation Desk on the Library's first floor. Other formats remain secured in room 320 and are available only with the help of staff members. Still others, primarily the microforms, are open for self-service.
The Earl K. Long Library with campus participation has created ScholarWorks@UNO an "institutional repository," offering researchers free access to scholarly works created by the faculty members and students of the University of New Orleans.
- Student Government DVD Collection
A growing collection of popular DVDs are available for checkout, and students are welcome to submit additional purchase requests. This collection is sponsored by the UNO Student Government Association.