PETER JOSEPH COLLECTION, ADDENDUM 1
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
Size: 10 items
locations: Lutcher, New Orleans, Plaquemine, and Scotlandville, La.; Chicago, Ill.; New York, N.Y.
Summary: Papers from 1726 North Dorgenois Street, New Orleans, La. a residence occupied by descendants of Peter Joseph (b. [New Orleans, 1843] -- d. Denver, Colo., July 15, 1905), a black New Orleanian. Found as a group, these papers relate to William Boysee Derricks (died New Orleans., July 14, 1957), a relative of the Joseph family. Includes a four-page holographic autobiography of Derricks.
collections: Peter Joseph Collection (Mss 127)
Source: Purchase, January 1980
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Peter Joseph Collection, Addendum 1, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
This is an addendum to a collection named for Peter Joseph, whose Louisiana State Militia commission (1874) is the earliest document in the initial collection, and who, according to articles in the New Orleans Times-Democrat (July 16, 1905, p. 9, col. 2) and Daily Picayune (July 19, 1905, p. 8, col. 7), was a Union army veteran, member of the Metropolitan Police, and Louisiana Republican elector in the Hayes-Tilden election. The present collection consists of materials associated with William Boysee Derricks, a relative of the Joseph family.
131-1 William Boysee Derricks items.
African Americans in Louisiana
Derricks, William Boysee