This is the "Supreme Court Archives" page of the "Using the Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Let us know what you think about creating a Digital Media Lab in the Earl K. Long Library. Please take our survey.
Earl K. Long Library
  • Find
  • Services
  • Help
  • Collections
  • About
  • Ask-A-Librarian

Using the Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Archives  

The Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Archives contains thousands of cases from between the years 1813 and 1921. These dates include the court's founding in 1813, the Civil War, and the post-war Reconstruction era.
Last Updated: Jan 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uno.edu/content.php?pid=131958 Print Guide RSS Updates

Supreme Court Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 

Questions? Ask us!

Profile Image
Louisiana and Special Collections Department
Contact Info
504-280-6544
Send Email
 

An Introduction to the Louisiana Supreme Court Historical Archives

The Supreme Court of Louisiana holds the distinction of being the highest court in the state, or as it is often called, “the court of last resort”. By order of the Court on November 4, 1976 its historical archives, defined as those records created after the Court's inception in 1813 through the year 1920, were deposited in the Earl K. Long Library at the University of New Orleans "to ensure their preservation and safety."

The archives consist mainly of manuscript case files appealed from lower state courts to the Supreme Court of Louisiana. Occupying approximately 2,730 linear feet, case files range in extent from several pages to thousands of pages. Rules required that the Court be provided with a complete transcript of lower court files and evidence; thus the case files include maps, surveys, printed briefs, and a host of other documentation. Often these are the only extant copies, not only of appellate arguments and decisions, but also of records that originated within the lower courts, as many lower court copies have been lost to fire, theft, and age-related deterioration.

In addition to the winter and spring sessions held in New Orleans the Supreme Court met elsewhere in the state during the summer and fall, at times in Opelousas, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Monroe, Natchitoches, and Shreveport. Each of these locations maintained its own docket-numbering system. Several times, coinciding with new state constitutions, one numbering system would be discontinued and another begun. Unfortunately, many of the case files from these other districts did not survive to the present day.  Since 1898, the Court has exclusively held its sessions in New Orleans.

These cases can provide a wealth on information on a number of subjects including: slavery, genealogy, civil rights, and much, much more.

More Information

  • The Celebration of the Centenary of the Supreme Court of Louisiana (KFL 512 .Z9 S85)  
      
  • The History of the Supreme Court of Louisiana (KFL 512 .Z9 H35)  
      
  • Slavery, the civil law, and the Supreme Court of Louisiana (KFL 401.6 .S55 S33)  
      
New Orleans skyline
fdlp logo
construction sawhorserenovation update spacer

Copyright © 2011. Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148. (504) 280-6549. Comments/Suggestions


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip