Skip to main content

MSS 041 - New Orleans Printing Pressmen's Union, Local No. 26 Collection: Inventory

New Orleans Printing Pressmen’s Union, Local No. 26 COLLECTION

(Mss 41) 

Inventory 

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

December 1973

Summary

 

Size:  1.5 linear feet

Geographic Locations:  New Orleans, La.

Inclusive dates:   ca. 1920 - 1973

Summary:  Records of New Orleans Printing Pressmen’s Union, Local No. 26.  Consists mainly of correspondence and miscellaneous items including agreements, weekly wage scales, clippings, and minutes of the Union Printing Pressmen Boosters, an organization within Local 26.

Source:  Gift, October and December 1973

Access:  No restrictions

Copyright:  Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:  New Orleans Printing Pressmen’s Union, Local No. 26 Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Container List

                        Agreements.

 

41-4                            June 28, 1934 - October 1, 1938.

 

41-5                            October 24, 1938.

 

41-6                            October 24, 1938.

 

41-7                            February 15, 1945.

 

41-8                            December, 1955 - October 1, 1957.

 

41-9                            April 15, 1958; April 15, 1960.

 

41-11              Constitutions and amendments, n.d., July, 1933; 1955.

 

 

                        Correspondence.

 

41-1                                        n.d., December 10, 1920 - May 2, 1938.

 

41-2                                        June 6, 1938 - June 24, 1944.

 

41-3                                        June 26, 1944 - June 22, 1972.  (Includes some photocopies of letters.)

 

41-18              Minutes of Union Printing Pressmen Boosters, June 18, 1931 - September 15, 1949.  Included are constitution and by-laws, July 18, 1931; photographs, March 25, 1939 and May 23, 1942; miscellany.

 

                        Miscellany.

 

41-15                                      Includes authorization forms for representation, nomination blanks, out-of-work assessments, poems, membership list, eulogy, n.d.

 

41-16                                      Includes non-communist affidavits, list of workers, newspaper clipping, n.d.;  employer's returns to Social Security, January, 1937 - December, 1937;  speeches from Congressional Record, June 30, 1937, July 9, 1937, and December 20, 1937;  election clippings and cards, n.d., January 26, 1954, and December 5, 1959;  warrants of appointment, December 21, 1959 and September 10, 1964.

 

41-17                                      Includes legal brief, list of workers, and floor plans pertaining to Franklin Printing Co., ca. April, 1960.

 

41-14                  Photographs, 1958.  (See 41-18 for additional photographs.)

 

41-12                    Proceedings of Board of Governors, October 11, 1934, April 30, 1935, and May 18, 1949.

 

41-13                    Publications.  Includes Graphic Arts Bulletin No. 1, n.d.; Printing Craftsman,  February 1938; The Federationist, February 1957; News and Views, October 1973 and November, 1973; and Greater New Orleans AFL-CIO Newsletter, November 1973.

 

41-10                    Weekly wage scales, October 24, 1940, October 24, 1941, and March 15, 1943.

Index Terms

New Orleans Printing Pressmen’s Union, Local No. 26

Union Printing Pressmen Boosters

Unions—Louisiana—New Orleans