Skip to main content

MSS 105 - Westminster Presbyterian Church: Inventory

Westminster Presbyterian Church COLLECTION

(Mss 105)

Inventory

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans 

February 1978

 

Summary

Size:                           ca. 1 linear foot

Geographic

Locations:                New Orleans, La.

Inclusive

Dates:                        1849, 1873, 1885, 1928 – 1966

Summary:                 Records of the Westminster Presbyterian Church, 1527 Harmony Street, New Orleans, Louisiana  70115.  Consists mainly of corres­pondence, financial records, minutes, and a variety of miscellany.

Source:                     Gift, February 1978

Access:                     No restrictions

Copyright:                Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation:                    Westminster Presbyterian Church Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Container List

105-1              Certificates of membership and dismission, n.d., June 12, 1951 - March 15, 1966.

 

105-2              Church bulletins, n.d., June 30, 1946; June 24, 1962 - August 7, 1966.

 

105-3              Clergyman's records of death, January 2, 1947 - December 21, 1957.

 

105-4              Communications from the Presbytery of New Orleans U.S.A., October 2, 1947 - June 14, 1956.

 

105-5              Correspondence, n.d., November 7, 1928 - December 11, 1969.

                        Financial records.

 

105-10                              Budget and financial statements, January 1, 1935 - June 1, 1966.  (Includes loan account book, December 19, 1951.)

 

105-11                              Deposit tickets to Presbyterian Extension Fund:  The National Bank of Commerce, January 3, 1938 - April 23, 1940.

 

105-24                              Dues book, January, 1936 - December 29, 1940.

 

105-12                              Treasurer's reports and supporting bills, n.d., May 31, 1936 - March 31, 1938.

 

105-16            Marriage certificates, October 4, 1849; September 20, 1873; July 15, 1885.

 

105-15            Membership lists, n.d., December, 1947; March 23, 1958; March 23, 1958.

                        Minutes.

 

105-7                    Board of Trustees, April 20, 1938 - April 13, 1939.

 

105-8                                Congregational, Corporation, and others, November 22, 1946 - November 2, 1966.

 

105-9                                Session, October 9, 1950 - September 16, 1962.

                        Miscellany.

 

105-21                              Includes flyleaf with B. M. Palmer signature, questionnaire, skits, n.d., constitution and by-laws of the New Orleans Ministerial Union, November 28, 1947.

 

105-22                              Includes articles relating to radio and television ministry, n.d., 1966.

 

105-23                              Includes collection envelopes, n.d., October 3, 1965; film catalogue, 1965.

 

105-19            Notebook containing Sunday School lesson plans, n.d.

 

105-6              Pastoral nominating committee:  Henry O. Moore file, January 3, 1955 - December 28, 1955.  (Original order maintained.)

 

105-20            Publications.  Includes Amplify, April, 1966; The Cable, n.d., 1964 - January 25, 1966; Christian Theological Seminary Bulletin, March, 1966 and June, 1966; Church Directory of Greater New Orleans, 1964; The Synod of Texas, October 15, 1966; Westwego Presbyterian Church Newsletter, n.d.; Yearbook: United Church Women of Louisiana 1958 - 1959.  See also church bulletins, 105-2.

 

105-13            Reports, n.d., 1948 - June 21, 1966.

 

105-17            Song sheets, n.d.

 

105-18            Sunday School teaching materials.  Includes missionary source book, n.d.; lesson plan book, 1961 - 1962; class roll books, 1964 - 1965.

 

105-14            Survey.  Includes membership, program, and staff data, September 1956.

Index Terms

 

Churches—Louisiana—New Orleans

Presbyterian Church in Louisiana

Westminster Presbyterian Church (New Orleans, La.)