Skip to main content

Distance and Online Learning Services: Home

Distance and Online Learning Services
The Library Supports You!
The Earl K. Long Library has a variety of resources and services specially designed to support distance education faculty and students at the University of New Orleans. The librarians at Earl K. Long Library are available to provide personalized research assistance and to partner with teaching faculty in providing instruction on the use of library resources.
For general information about distance education programs, courses and services, visit Online Learning at UNO.

Tools On Your Desktop

  • Books
    Search the library's online catalog to see which books, journals, magazines, newspapers, CDs, videos and other material the UNO Library owns.
  • E-books – Available 24/7
    The library provides access to over 139,000 electronic book titles in all academic disciplines through the library’s online catalog.
  • EBSCO eBook Collection can be searched as a collection or can be accessed from records in the library’s online catalog.  You will want to create a personal account which will enable you to bookmark pages, add notes for further reference and study, and set up personal display and search preferences.
  • Ebrary can be searched as a collection or can be accessed from records in the library’s online catalog.  

Ebrary Access

To search as a collection, you will need to create an account which will enable you to bookmark pages, add notes for further reference and study, and set up personal display and search preferences.

  • Articles
    • Full Text Databases - You can search for and retrieve many full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and selected newspapers
    • E-journals - The library subscribes to AtoZ which allows you to search the library's online journals.
      These e-journals can also be accessed by searching the library's online catalog
  • Subject Guides
    UNO librarians maintain web pages listing helpful electronic and print resources in different subject areas.

We Deliver

We Deliver
Once you have identified the materials you want, Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL) will locate these items either in our own collection or from another library. You will be notified of the delivery method by the ILL Department. Delivery methods may vary depending on your home location. To establish an account and submit ILL requests, visit their website

On your first visit to the website, you'll create a username & password, then enter in your contact information. Don't forget to identify yourself as a Distance Learner (must live further than 50 miles from New Orleans) on the registration form--this  will qualify you for delivery services.

  • Books
    Distance learners should allow ample time for shipping of books through the U.S. Mail. Average turnaround time for receiving your requested items ranges from 2-4 weeks. Remember that overdue fines may accrue for late items. Distance learners need to pay particular attention to due dates on items borrowed from other libraries.
  • Articles
    Articles will be delivered electronically.  However, distance learners should still allow 1-3 weeks for the delivery of requested articles.

For interlibrary loan questions, please contact:
Janet Crane, Access Services Librarian
504-280-6548
libill@uno.edu

Ask A Librarian

 

Assistance is available via email at libref@uno.edu and through the Library's Reference Request form!

You can also call us at (504) 280-6549 or come see us in person at the reference desk in the Learning Commons.

Please check out the Library Hours page for Reference Desk hours.
 

Chat Reference Policy

Have a Reference Question?

Call the Reference Desk at (504) 280-6549

Use our Email Reference Form

Or send email us at libref@uno.edu!

You can also email a subject specialist directly.
Find your librarian's contact information and see who is online now by clicking here.

Request forms can be found here.

Need help with a particular library issue? Check out our Other Library Contacts tab.

Try our "Tweet-A-Librarian" service. Use Twitter and tweet your questions to #unolib or @ekl_library.

twitter logo

New Orleans skyline

fdlp logo Contact Us | Give to the Library | Staff Access
UNO Home | Student E-Mail | WebStar | Moodle | Directory | University Alert System