PSYC 3300--Gumpert: Books
Reference Books
For some research, books are still the way to go. For example, encyclopedias and handbooks are good for brief, reliable information about psychological theories or instruments. A few such books are listed below. Contact a librarian or check the UNO Library's online catalog for additional titles
21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook (AVAILABLE ONLINE)
A Biographical dictionary of psychologists, psychiatrists and psychotherapists
BF109 .A1 S76 2008 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5
RC455.2 .C4 D54 2013 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
BF431 .G624 (2nd floor PERIODICAL SHELVES)
This nine-volume series identifies and describes noncommercial psychological measures from the fields of psychology, sociology, and education that have been devised by researchers and published in 36 top journals. Volume 9 lists tests published in the 2001–2005 issues of those journals. This directory fills an ongoing need for comprehensive information about noncommercial tests, enabling researchers to determine what types of noncommercial experimental test instruments are currently in use. The instruments are not evaluated, but the information given about each test should make it possible for researchers to make a preliminary judgment of its usefulness.
Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology (AVAILABLE ONLINE)
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology (AVAILABLE ONLINE)
Handbook of the clinical psychology of ageing
RC451.4 .A5 H426 2008 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
H41 .I58 2001 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology (AVAILABLE ONLINE)
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
BF76.7 .P83 2010 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)
The Wiley-Blackwell handbook of childhood social development
BF713 .B565 2011 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)
National Library of Medicine Bookshelf (freely available online)
jsk;ks;gl
Expand Your Search
For some research, books are still the way to go. For example, encyclopedias and handbooks are good for brief, reliable information about psychological theories or instruments. A few such books are listed below; contact a librarian or check the UNO Library's online catalog, for more.
| Title | Call Number | |
| Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology | Online | Hundreds of articles about important psychological topics, including biographies, information about theories and experiments, and applications of psychology. |
| APA Publication Manual | BF 76.7 .P83 2001 | Find out how to format and provide citations for papers in Psychology and many other subjects. Some of the content is also available online at the APA Style Page. |
| Biographical Dictionary of Psychologists | BF 109 .A1 B56 1997 | With information about a wide variety of psychologists, this book contains birth and death dates, information about education and awards, and bibliographies of both the psychologist's important works and others' writings about them. |
| Handbook of Psychology | BF 121 .H1955 | Encyclopedic work includes overviews of many topics in Psychology, including history, research methods, and many different areas of Psychology (such as Biological Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Forensic Psychology, etc.). |
| DSM-IV-TR | RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2000 | The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - Volume IV - Text Revision is the current standard classification of mental disorders. It includes descriptions and diagnostic codes across the spectrum of mental disorders. |
F.A.Q.s
How can I get help with my research?
Contact the Reference Department for help with your science information needs. Check the chat box at the top of the page to see if she is available right now. Or, she can be reached at 504-280-6549, libref@uno.edu.
Or, stop by the Information Desk on the first floor of the Library, call 504-280-6549, or email libref@uno.edu.
How do I get access to these resources from off campus?
When you click on the link to an electronic resource, you will be asked to log in. Use your UNO ID number (with two zeroes added to the end) as your User ID number. The default PIN changes each semester. Click on "Email My PIN" to have it emailed to you. If you encounter problems or need assistance logging in, contact the Circulation Desk at 504-280-6355.
When I find a citation or abstract, how do I get to the full article?
You can always look up a journal in the Publication Finder tab on our homepage or use the UNO Library Catalog to find books and e-books. Search for the journal title (make sure to use the journal title, not the article title!) to see if UNO has an online or print subscription. If we have a subscription, your search results will give you a link to the ejournal, a list of print issues on the shelf, or both.
What if the UNO Library doesn’t have the article or book I need?
There are still ways to get what you need! You can search the database WorldCat to find other nearby libraries that have the book or article (see the Services desk for more information about using other local libraries and to get a borrower's card), or request that the book or article be sent here through InterLibrary Loan.
Oct 2, 2024