Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (For coverage of non North American history see Historical Abstracts).
Historical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities, including article abstracts, and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered by America: History and Life. Provides indexing of more than 2000 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Includes links to full text articles.
Historical Statistics of the United States – Millennial Edition
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource includes over 37,000 data series. The new millennial edition has dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty.
History Reference Center
This database features full text for more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 6.3 million soldier records in the National Archives.
Digital Library on American Slavery
The Digital Library on American Slavery offers data on race and slavery extracted from eighteenth and nineteenth-century documents and processed over a period of eighteen years. The Digital Library contains detailed information on about 150,000 individuals, including slaves, free people of color, and whites.