Reference Sources by Subject: Computer Science Reference Sources
This guide lists the key reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in various subject areas.
Encyclopedias
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Science, 4th edition (2008) [electronic book]
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.
- Encyclopedia of geographic information science (2008)
Available ion 3rd floor under call number: G70.212 .E53 2008
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (2007)
Available in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor under call number: REF Q121 .M3 2007
Some of the topics covered in this resource include: computational intelligence, computer-aided circuit design and nanotechnology.
- Encyclopedia of human computer interaction (2006) [electronic book]
Provides an overview of many topics in the relatively new and evolving field of human computer interacation.
- Encyclopedia of computer science (2000)
Available on the 3rd floor under call number: QA76.15.E48 2000
Contains over 600 articles by internationally-known computing experts on topics covering computers, computing, and computer science.
- The Facts On File encyclopedia of science, technology, and society (1999)
Available on the 3rd floor under call number: Q121 .V65 1999
Dictionaries
- Dictionary of information technology (2010) [electronic book]
Includes the main technical terms used in the IT field.
- Modern dictionary of bioinformatics and biotechnology (2008) [electronic book]
A specialized dictionary that is a comprehensive introduction to the use of computers in biological research.
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography (2008) [electronic book]
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
- The information security dictionary: defining the terms that define security for E-business, Internet, information, and wireless technology (2004) [electronic resource]
provides a relatively complete and easyto read explanation of common security, malware, vulnerability and infrastructure protection terms.
- McGraw-Hill dictionary of electronics and computer technology (1984)
Available in Library on Book Shelves on the 3rd floor under call number: TK7804 .M4 1984
Handbooks, Guides, and Manuals
- Guidelines for smart grid cyber security (2010) [electronic book]
- Security engineering : a guide to building dependable distributed systems (2008)
Available in Library on Book Shelves on the3rd floor under call number: QA76.9 .A25 A54 2008 - The computer science and engineering handbook (1997)
Available in Library on Book Shelves on the 3rd floor under call number: QA76 .C57315 1997
- Handbook of logic in computer science (1992)
Available in Library on Book Shelves on the 3rd floor under call number: QA76 .H2785 1992
- Handbook of theoretical computer science (1990)
Available in Library on Book Shelves on the 3rd floor under call number: QA76 .H279 1990
Computer Science Librarian
Lora Amsberryaugier
Contact:
University of New Orleans
Earl K. Long Library
2000 Lakeshore Dr.
New Orleans, LA 70148
Earl K. Long Library
2000 Lakeshore Dr.
New Orleans, LA 70148
(504) 280-5563
Subjects: General Reference