MSS 016 - Athenee Louisianais Collection: Inventory

ATHÉNÉE LOUISIANAIS COLLECTION

(Mss 16)

INVENTORY

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

March 2000

 

Summary

Size:	Approximately 2 linear feet (1,201 items).
Geographic Locations:	New Orleans, Louisiana
Inclusive Dates:	1913 to 1970.
Bulk Dates:	1913 to 1970.
Summary:	Records and papers of the Athenée Louisianais, consisting mainly of correspondence and minutes.  Included in the collection are minutes (1930-1938) of the Reveil Français.
Related Collections:	James Bezou Collection (Mss 42)
Source:	Gift, 1970.
Access:	No Restrictions.
Copyright:	Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation:	Athenée Louisianais Collection (MSS 16), Louisiana and Special Collections Department, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

Historical Note

Formally organized on January 12, 1876, and incorporated under the laws of Louisiana in 1892, the Athenée Louisianais was the creation of business and professional men of the French-speaking community in New Orleans.  Oriented toward social and cultural interests and emphasizing the propagation of the French language and things French, the Society sponsored soirées, lectures, and literary competitions.  An important function of the organization was the publication of its journal, the Comptes Rendus.

Included in this collection are minutes of the Reveil Français, a later (1930-1938) and smaller New Orleans group with similar orientation.

For a more detailed account of both societies, see below under Manuscripts, two articles by James F. Bezou, "La Reveil Français" and "L'Athenée Louisianais."

Container List

Acte d'Incorporation de L'Athenée Louisianais

16-1                July 26, 1892 (photocopy).  1 item

Announcements and Programmes

16-2                Series 1 (for lectures, singers, travel tours and miscellaneous events), ca. 1952 - 1965.  21 items

16-3                Series 2 (Concours de 1953, 1956, 1963, 1965).  7 items

16-4                Series 3 (for gatherings sponsored by the Society), 1950, 1961, 1963, 1966.  4 items

Clippings

16-5                n.d., 1939, 1954 - 1968.  20 items

Correspondence

Series 1 (general).

16-6                n.d.;  Mar. 3, 1943;  Oct. 6, 1949 - Dec. 22, 1958.  255 items

16-7                Jan. 2, 1959 - Dec. 18, 1961.  207 items

16-8                Jan. 2, 1962 - Dec. 31, 1963.  202 items

16-9                Jan. 9, 1964 - Dec. 31, 1965.     160 items

16-10              Jan. 11, 1966 - Feb. 13, 1969.  161 items

16-11              Series 2 (primarily concerned with subscriptions to Comptes Rendus; included are purchase orders and invoices),  1954 - 1956.  82 items

France-Amérique de la Louisiane-Acadienne

16-12              Constitution (mimeograph typescript with holographic corrections), n.d.  1 item

16-13              Manuscripts

 

 

Typescripts primarily prepared for publication in the Society's Comptes Rendus.  Included are several necrologies; a speech by Sidney M. Bach welcoming President Charles De Gaulle to New Orleans, April 23, 1960; an article, "Le Architecture en Louisiane au XIXe Siècle," by Marcelle Peret; biographies and miscellany on Alphonse and Edmond Marin La Meslee; and histories of the Athenée Louisianais and Reveil Français by James F. Bezou.  22 items

Minutes and Ephemerides

16-14              November 7, 1913 - May 7, 1932 (1 bd. vol. and 14 loose items).  15 items

16-15              May 8, 1937 - April 29, 1949 (1 bd. vol. and 11 loose items).  12 items

Miscellany

16-16              Inventories of Comptes Rendus stock, lists of individuals, notes, etc.  12 items

Peret, Marcelle

16-20              Original pen drawings for "L'Architecture en Louisiane au XIXe Siècle."  Comptes Rendus, November, 1952.  6 items

Reglements de l'Athenée Louisianais

16-17              1876 (original and photocopy).  2 items

Reveil Francais

16-18              Minutes ("Proces verbaux des reunions tenues..."),  July 1930 - October 1938 (1 vol.).  1 item

Serial Publications

16-19             

              Crescent City Credit Courier (New Orleans), n.d.  1 item

              L'ECHO de la Federation de l'Alliance Française aux Etats-Unis et au Canada (New York), 1953 - 1956.  4 items

              Foreign Language News Letter (Baton Rouge), 1955 - 1956.  2 items

              France-Amérique, Le Courrier des Etats-Unis (New York), May 23, 1968 (2 copies).  2 items

              Informations & [et] Documents (Paris), 1957.  1 item

              L'Opéra de Paris (Paris), No. 23, [1965].  1 item

Index Terms

Athénée Louisianais

Bezou, James

French in Louisiana

Organizations—Louisiana—New Orleans

Reveil Français