MSS 045 - Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection: Inventory
- Last Updated: Sep 8, 2018 2:37 PM
- URL: https://libguides.uno.edu/mss045
- Print Page
ALEMAN FAMILY (HATHAWAY GIBBENS) COLLECTION
(Mss 45)
Inventory
Earl K. Long Library
University of New Orleans
July 1997
Summary
Size: 71 items
Geographic Locations: New Orleans, Covington, and Baton Rouge, La.; Mississippi Gulf Coast; other locales in the United States and Canada.
Inclusive dates: 1903-1915
Bulk dates: 1905-1909
Summary: Postcards depicting scenes of New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Covington, La.; the Mississippi Gulf Coast; and various cities in the United States and Canada. Also, holiday greeting postcards and other subjects.
Related Collections: Postcards Collection (Mss 93)
Source: Gift, 1973
Access: No restrictions
Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.
Citation: Aleman Family (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans
Historical/Biographical Note
Government-issued postcards first appeared in Austria in 1869 as an economical means of transmitting a message. They swiftly spread throughout Europe and were adopted in the United States in 1873. Meanwhile, pictorial postcards were introduced in France in 1870. Pictorials did not, however, enjoy immediate popularity in the United States, where such privately printed cards required two cents’ postage; government postcards cost only a penny. As of July 1, 1898, the Private Mailing Card Act eliminated this inequity, and privately published postcards appeared in increasing number. Postcards published before that date, whether mailed are not, are known as “pioneers.”
The World’s Colombian Exposition, held in Chicago in 1893, led to the emergence of the modern postcard. Charles Goldsmith, a Chicago entrepreneur, obtained from the U.S. Post Office a license to print souvenir views of the fair on government-issued postals. When test sales of four cards met with success, Goldsmith issued sets of ten illustrations packaged in a wrapper. The cards became available in 1892, in time for the exposition’s ground-breaking ceremony.
After the decrease in postage rates in 1893 gave new impetus to the practice of mailing postcards, collecting them became one of the world’s most popular hobbies. At first, the Post Office required that one side of the card be given over in its entirety to the recipient’s address; any message had to appear on the front with the illustration, necessitating brevity. New regulations issued in 1907 permitted publishers to divide the reverse of the card to accommodate both message and address in a format which remains in use today.
The period between 1898 and the outbreak of World War I was the golden age of postcards. Printers in Austria and Germany, where color reproduction was less costly than elsewhere, produced lovely postcards for American publishers. During the fiscal year ending on June 30, 1908, for example, 677,777,798 postcards were mailed in the United States. In addition, vast, uncounted quantities languished, unsent, in collectors’ albums. At the time, the population of the United States was 88,700,000.
Interest in collecting postcards, after reaching the proportion of a national mania for nearly two decades, diminished abruptly in 1914 because of the onset of World War I and the popularity of newfangled folded greeting cards. As a result, postals dating from the 1920s through the 1960s are more scarce than older specimens. Early collectors called their hobby “cartephilia” or “philocarty,” Greek for “a hopeless love of cards.” A new wave of postcard collecting commenced in the 1970s, indulged in by a visually literate public which discovered them to be attractive souvenirs of travel and leisure activities, compact to store, and convenient for brief messages. To this generation of collectors their avocation is “deltiology,” derived from Greek words meaning “small picture” and “knowledge.”
During the golden age of postcard-collecting, one of the collectors was young Anne Hathaway Gibbens, known familiarly as Hathy. As a student of the Ursuline nuns in New Orleans between ca. 1906 and 1910, Hathaway was sent postcards by her mother and other relatives. Hathaway also received postcards, chiefly from friends, at various Gibbens family residences in New Orleans, Louisiana and in Ocean Springs and Bay St. Louis, Mississippi. She arranged the cards in albums, supplementing her own acquisitions with a small quantity of postcards addressed to her sister Gladys and to Will J. Gibbens, who presumably was her brother.
Represented most prominently in Hathaway Gibbens’s collection are viewcards, those which depict a building or scene; there are just a few subject cards and no advertising postcards. The largest two series in the collection contain Louisiana and Mississippi scenes. Such postcards became available in the late 1890s. Some provide the earliest color images of small-town and rural sites and structures or the only surviving illustration of a building or an event.
Series, Subseries, and Descriptions
Series I. Views of Louisiana, 1905-ca. 1912 (21 items)
Subseries 1: New Orleans, 1906-ca. 1912 (15 items)
Parks and public squares figure prominently among these viewcards, which also include images of the Public Library; the arrival of Rex, King of Carnival; and Ursuline Convent, where Hathaway Gibbens was educated.
Subseries 2: Baton Rouge, 1905-ca. 1907 (4 items)
Buildings at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge comprise most of the postcards in Subseries I.2.
Subseries 3: Covington, ca. 1912 (2 items)
Subseries I.3 contains two views of the Tchefunca Bridge.
Series II. Views of the Mississippi Gulf Coast, ca. 1906-ca. 1914 (13 items)
Subseries 1: Bay St. Louis, ca. 1906-ca. 1914 (3 items)
Two views of hotels and one of a park comprise Subseries II.1.
Subseries 2: Biloxi, after March 1, 1907-ca. 1914 (4 items)
Grant’s Drug Store published most of these views of Biloxi buildings.
Subseries 3: Pass Christian, ca. 1906-after March 1, 1907 (6 items)
Hotels and oak trees figure prominently in Subseries II.3.
Series III. Views of Other Locales in the United States and Canada, ca. 1903-1915 (13 items)
Travelers sent viewcards depicting buildings and activities in six states and Canada to various members of the Gibbens family.
Subseries 1: Alabama, ca. 1912 (1 item)
Subseries 2: California, ca. 1915 (1 item)
Subseries 3: Panama-California Exposition (1915 : San Diego, CA), 1914 (2 items)
Subseries 4: Panama-Pacific Exposition (1915 : San Francisco, CA), 1915 (1 item)
Subseries 5: Louisiana Purchase Exposition (1904 : St. Louis, MO), 1904 (2 items)
Subseries 6: Nebraska, after March 1, 1907 (1 item)
Subseries 7: New York, 1907 (2 items)
Subseries 8: Utah, ca. 1915 (1 item)
Subseries 9: Virginia, ca. 1903 (1 item)
Subseries 10: Canada, ca. 1912 (1 item)
Series IV. Holiday Greetings, ca. 1905-ca. 1911 (14 items)
Includes novelty cards (one mechanical, several with padded satin sections) as well as subject postcards which depict seasonally appropriate images.
Subseries 1: New Year, after March 1, 1907 (1 items)
Subseries 2: Valentine Day, after March 1, 1907 (4 items)
Subseries 3: Easter, ca. 1905-ca. 1911 (3 items)
Subseries 4: Thanksgiving, ca. 1909 (2 items)
Subseries 5: Christmas, ca. 1908-ca. 1910 (4 items)
Series V. Other Postcards, ca. 1908-ca. 1910 (10 items)
Includes postcards made of novelty materials.
Subseries 1: Friendship, ca. 1908-ca. 1910 (2 items)
Subseries 2: Comic Postcards, 1903-ca. 1906 (3 items)
Subseries 3: Persons, ca. 1904-ca. 1908 (2 items)
Subseries 4: Birds and Animals, ca. 1905 (1 item)
Subseries 5: Other, ca. 1905 (2 items)
Index Terms
Aleman, Hathaway Gibbens
Aleman Family
Greeting cards
Louisiana—Views
Mississippi—Views
New Orleans, La.--Views
Postcards
Container List
Series I. Louisiana
Subseries 1: New Orleans
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 1
Subject: “Washington Oak, Audubon Park, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 5817. Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 3, 1906. Sent by Sara Perkins to Miss Hathaway G. Gibbons [!].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 2
Subject: “NEW ORLEANS, La. Lover’s Lane—Audubon Park”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: Raphael Tuck & Sons
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners worn; otherwise good
Remarks: “Photochromed in Germany.” Publisher no. 2687. Post office cancellation on reverse dated Feb. 8. Sent by “Cecile” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 3
Subject: “Bayou St. John, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [ca. 1912]
Publisher: Lipsher Specialty Co., 320 Magazine St., New Orleans, La.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners worn; minor discoloration
Remarks: Publisher no. A-15036. Post office cancellation on reverse dated June 10, 1912. Sent by “Aunt Sybil” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 4
Subject: “New Orleans, La. Christ Church Cathedral.”
Date: [1907]
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Good
Remarks: Publisher no. 5014. Post office cancellation on reverse dated January 29, 1907. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 4580 Dauphine Street, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 5
Subject: “Old Dueling Ground, City Park, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [not later than 1908]
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped; minor discoloration
Remarks: Publisher no. 5816. Post office cancellation on reverse dated June 9, 1908. Sent by [Katherine?] to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 6
Subject: “City Park Race Track, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: New Orleans News Company, New Orleans, La.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners worn; minor surface dirt
Remarks: Publisher no. C2939. Sent by Hedwig Mexia to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La. No post office cancellation.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 7
Subject: “Statue, Margaret Haughery, Margaret Place, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [between March 1, 1907 and July 4, 1911]
Publisher: Acmegraph Co., Chicago, Ill.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Minor creasing; edges chipped
Remarks: Publisher no. 4950. Post office cancellation on verso dated July 4. Sent by “Florence B.” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 1525 Eighth Street, New Orleans, La. Message dated July 3, 1911.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 8
Subject: “Lafayette Square, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [1906]
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 5002. Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 7, 1906. Sent by “Norah” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 9
Subject: “Public Library, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [ca. 1909]
Publisher: New Orleans News Company, New Orleans, La.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. D 10020. Post office cancellation on reverse dated October 13, 1909. Sent by Mary O’Keefe to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Academy, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 10
Subject: “‘Landing of Rex,’ New Orleans, La.”
Date: [ca. 1907]
Publisher: Rotograph Co., New York City
Form: Black-and-white letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: Good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. A 16611. Post office cancellation on reverse dated 1907; message written in ink on picture face of card, affecting image. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 11
Subject: “NEW ORLEANS, La. Southern Yacht Club, West End”
Date: [ca. 1908]
Publisher: Raphael Tuck & Sons
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: “Photochromed in Germany.” Publisher no. 2637. Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 2, 1908. Sent by Anna Rivet to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 12
Subject: “NEW ORLEANS, La. The U. S. Mint”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: Raphael Tuck & Sons
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Minor discoloration
Remarks: Publisher no. 2108. Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 24, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La. (Ursuline Convent).
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 13
Subject: “Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.”
Date: [ca. 1910]
Publisher:
Form: Black-and-white letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: General discoloration
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 15, 1910; message written in ink on picture face of card, affecting image. Sent by Sr. St. Angèle to Miss Anne Hathaway Gibbens, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 14
Subject: “Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La. 2 - View of the Park”
Date: [between March 1, 1907 and August 17, 1908]
Publisher:
Form: Black-and-white letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: Minor discoloration
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 17, 1908. Sent by “S. S. Angelé” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 15
Subject: “A Few Lines from New Orleans, La.”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Lettering partially worn away
Remarks: Sent by Miles Cox to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi. No post office cancellation.
Subseries 2: Baton Rouge
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 16
Subject: “Governors Mansion, Baton Rouge, La.”
Date: c1905
Publisher: Rotograph Co., New York City
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Surface dirt
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. 16520. Post office cancellation on reverse dated April 23, 1906. Sent by “Aunt Bessie” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 1628 State Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 17
Subject: “Avenue of Oaks, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, U.S.A.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: Litho-Chrome, Leipzig, Berlin, Chicago
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 10414. Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 16, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 18
Subject: “Foster Hall, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, U.S.A.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: Litho-Chrome, Leipzig, Berlin, Chicago
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 10413. Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 28, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 19
Subject: “Heard Hall, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, U.S.A.”
Date: [ca. 1907]
Publisher: Litho-Chrome, Leipzig, Berlin, Chicago
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 10418. Post office cancellation on reverse dated January 16, 1907. Sent by “Aunt Maud” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 3: Covington
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 20
Subject: “Tchefuncta Bridge, Covington, La.”
Date: [ca. 1912]
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Creased; corners chipped
Remarks: Publisher no. 11907. Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 17, 1912. Sent by “Gladys” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 21
Subject: “Bridge across the Tchefuncta River at Covington, La.”
Date: [ca. 1912]
Publisher: Tolson & Schonberg, Covington, La.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 4008. Post office cancellation on reverse dated September 3, 1912; message written in ink on picture face of card, affecting image. Sent by “Dagmar” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.
Series II. Views of the Mississippi Gulf Coast
Subseries 1: Bay St. Louis
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 22
Subject: “Pickwick Hotel, Bay St. Louis, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1907]
Publisher: Rotograph Co., New York City
Form: Black-and-white letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. A 14076. Post office cancellation on reverse dated April 18; message written in ink on picture face of card, affecting image. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La. Message dated April 17, 1907.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 23
Subject: “Spring Park, Bay St. Louis, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: E. C. Kropp, Milwaukee
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 21, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 24
Subject: “The Tulane Hotel, Bay St. Louis, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1914]
Publisher: L. A. De Montluzin Sons, Bay St. Louis, Miss.”
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated June 5, 1914. Sent by “Jayster” to Miss Gladys Gibbens, 1525 Eighth Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 2: Biloxi
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 25
Subject: “Gulf Coast Military Academy Near Biloxi, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1914]
Publisher: Biloxi News Co.
Form: Black-and-white letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: Corners slightly chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 5, 1914. Sent by “Mildred” to Misses Gladys & Hathaway Gibbens, 1515 Eighth Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 26
Subject: “Light House, Biloxi, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1909]
Publisher: Grant’s Drug Store
Form: Black-and-white letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 30, 1909. Sent by “Olga” to Miss H. Gibbens, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 27
Subject: “Oaks - ‘Ring in the Tree,’ Biloxi, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1909]
Publisher: Grant’s Drug Store
Form: Hand-colored letterpress halftone on postcard stock
Condition: Minor discoloration
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated June 28, 1909. Sent by “Edna” to Misses H. & G. Gibbens, Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 28
Subject: “View from Residence of W. A. White, Biloxi, Miss.”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: Detroit Publishing Co.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Surface worn; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 9658.
Subseries 3: Pass Christian
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 29
Subject: “‘On the Front Road,’ Pass Christian, Miss.”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: J. Edward Hansen, Pass Christian, Miss.
Form: Black-and-white photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners creased, chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Sent by “Amalie” to Miss Hathaway Gibbons [!], Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 30
Subject: “Lynne Castle Hotel, Pass Christian, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: E. C. Kropp, Milwaukee
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated June 8, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 31
Subject: “New Magnolia Hotel, Pass Christian, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: E. C. Kropp, Milwaukee
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated October 16, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 32
Subject: “Beautiful Giant Spreading Oak, Pass Christian, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: Hansons Pharmacy
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; surface wear
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 1, 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 33
Subject: “Grant Oak Drive, Front St., Pass Christian, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: Hansons Pharmacy
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Edged chipped; surface wear with some loss of image
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated October 20, 1908; but message dated 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 34
Subject: “Trinity Episcopal Church, Pass Christian, Miss.”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher: Hansons Pharmacy
Form: Black-and-white photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 1906. Sent by “Mother” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, La.
Series III. Views of Other Locales in the United States and Canada
Subseries 1: Alabama
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 35
Subject: “South View, Springhill College, Mobile, Ala.”
Date: [ca. 1912]
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners creased; face otherwise good except for post office cancellation marks
Remarks: Publisher no. R-20917. Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 18, 1912. Sent by “Louise” to Miss H. Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Miss.
Subseries 2: California
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 36
Subject: “Section of Court of Abundance, showing the tower of Jewels and Arch of the Rising Sun in the distance”
Date: [ca. 1915]
Publisher: Guide Publishers, Hobart Building, San Francisco
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 8, 1915. Sent by “Gladys” to Mr. Will J. Gibbens, 1525 - 8th Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 3: Panama-California Exposition (1915 : San Diego, Cal.)
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 37
Subject: “Kern and Tulare Counties Building. Approach to La via de los Estados”
Date: c1914
Publisher: Panama-California Exposition
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Creased; otherwise good
Remarks: “Official Views.” Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 26, 1915. Sent by “Lou” to Miss E. Hathaway Gibbens, 922 Ashland Avenue, Wilmette, Ill.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 38
Subject: “Entrance to Colonnade of Commerce and Industries Building”
Date: c1914
Publisher: Panama-California Exposition
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Minor staining
Remarks: “Official Views.” Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 26, 1915. Sent by “Gladys” to Mr. Will J. Gibbens, 1525 - 8th Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 4: Panama-Pacific Exposition (1915 : San Francisco, Cal.)
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 39
Subject: “The Home of Redwood”
Date: 1915
Publisher:
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks:
Subseries 5: Louisiana Purchase Exposition (1904 : St. Louis, Mo.)
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 40
Subject: “Grand Lagoon”
Date: [1904]
Publisher: Samuel Corille Envelope Co., St. Louis, Mo.
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock. A novelty hold-to-light card with cut-out colored windows that glow when held before strong light
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated February 15, 1904. Sent by “Viola” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 3951 Camp Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 41
Subject: “Palace of Varied Industries”
Date: [1904]
Publisher: Buxton & Skinner Litho., St. Louis, U.S.A.
Form:
Condition: Badly creased
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated June 23, 1904. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 3951 Camp Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 6: Nebraska
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 42
Subject: “Greens Nebraska Indians”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: C. T. Photochrom
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 18. Sent to Mr. W. J. Gibbens, Jr., 1525 Eight [!] Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 7: New York
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 43
Subject: “Tube Connecting New York and Brooklyn”
Date: c1907
Publisher: Pierre P. Pullis
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Edges chipped
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. 2135.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 44
Subject: “Fire Boat in Action”
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher:
Form: Letterpress halftone in color on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. New York Fire Fighters Series. Publisher no. 1764.
Subseries 8: Utah
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 45
Subject: “The Temple Grounds in Winter, Salt Lake City, Utah”
Date: [ca. 1915]
Publisher: Souvenir Novelty Co., Salt Lake City, Utah
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 748. Post office cancellation on reverse dated August 17, 1915. Sent to Mr. Will Gibbens, Roan Mountain In [!], Roan Mountain, Tenn.
Subseries 9: Virginia
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 46
Subject: “Greetings from Norfolk, Va.” [Three vignettes:] Princess Anne Hotel, Pine Forest, Seatack Life Saving Station
Date: [ca. 1903]
Publisher:
Form: Black-and-white photogravures on postcard stock
Condition: Badly discolored
Remarks: Post office cancellation on face of card dated August 20, 1903; affects image of Seatack Life Saving Station. Sent by “Vi” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 3951 Camp Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 10: Canada
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 47
Subject: “Église de Notre Dame, Intérieur, Montreal”
Date: [ca. 1912]
Publisher: Montreal Import Co.
Form: Photogravure on postcard stock
Condition: Corners creased; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 103. Message signed “M.H.B.,” dated October 30, 1912.
Series IV. Holiday Greetings
Subseries 1: New Year
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 48
Subject: “A Happy New Year” [depicts pansies]
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Minor surface dirt
Remarks: Signed on face of card, “From Louise Trahan.” Post office cancellation on reverse dated December 23. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 1541 Seventh Street, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 2: Valentine Day
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 49
Subject: “O, wont you be my sweetheart. With fondest love” [boy with dog]
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: International Art Publishing Co., New York, Berlin
Form:
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Series no. 831. Post office cancellation dated February 14. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 50
Subject: “To my Valentine. Nobody loves me” [boy, seated in chair, with dog]
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher: International Art Publishing Co., New York, Berlin
Form:
Condition: General discoloration
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Series no. 831. Post office cancellation dated February 14. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, 4580 Dauphine Street, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 51
Subject: “St. Valentine’s Greeting” [four-leaf clovers, violets, hearts]
Date:
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Minor discoloration
Remarks: A mechanical novelty card; turning a tab replaces hearts with the words, “To the one I love.” Apparently not intended for mailing.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 52
Subject: “To My Valentine” [irises with blue satin heart]
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Minor discoloration
Remarks: Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 3: Easter
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 53
Subject: “Best Easter Wishes” [depicts colored eggs]
Date: [ca. 1911]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Saxony. Publisher no. 0706. Post office cancellation on reverse dated April 14, 1911. Sent by “Miles” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 1525 - 8th Street, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 54
Subject: “A Joyful Easter” [cupids moving large satin pink egg in a wagon]
Date: [after March 1, 1907]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Minor surface dirt; otherwise good
Remarks: Publisher no. 6343. Addressed by “Susie” to Miss Hathaway Gibbons [!], 805 St. Ferdinand, Baton Rouge, La., but never mailed
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 55
Subject: “Easter Greetings” [rabbit carrying basket of colored eggs]
Date: [ca. 1905]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Good
Remarks: Inscribed on face of card: “With love from Viola.” Post office cancellation on reverse dated April 21, 1905. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, [New Orleans, La.].
Subseries 4: Thanksgiving
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 56
Subject: “Best Wishes for a Happy Thanksgiving” [turkey in foreground; children at dining table in background]
Date: [ca. 1909]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Corners chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Saxony. Publisher no. 854. Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 23, 1909. Sent to Miss H. Gibbens, Ursuline Academy, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 57
Subject: “Thanksgiving Greetings” [turkey in pastoral setting]
Date: [ca. 1909]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Edges chipped; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. 2096 A. Post office cancellation on reverse dated November 20, 1909. Sent by “Cécile” to The Academic Class, Ursuline Academy, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 5: Christmas
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 58
Subject: “A Joyous Christmas” [boy carrying gifts]
Date: c1909
Publisher: International Art Publ. Co., New York, Berlin
Form:
Condition: Edges chipped, discolored; otherwise good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Series no. 1045. Post office cancellation on reverse dated December 24, 1912. Signed on face of card by Marie A. Tassin. Sent to The Misses Gibbens, 1525 Eighth Street, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 59
Subject: “With all good wishes for a happy Christmas” [children gathered around Christmas tree]
Date: [ca. 1904]
Publisher: Raphael Tuck & Sons
Form:
Condition: Discoloration and surface wear, affecting image
Remarks: “Chromographed in Bavaria.” Series no. 1757. Post office cancellation on reverse dated December 24, 1904. Sent by “Viola” to Miss H. Gibbens, 1208 Esplanade Avenue, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 60
Subject: “A Song of Praise”
Date: [ca. 1912]
Publisher: International Art Publ. Co.
Form:
Condition: Good
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Series no. 1316. Post office cancellation on reverse dated December 21, 1912. Sent by “Janey” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, 1525 8th Street, New Orleans.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 61
Subject: “May Happiness be yours from Day to Day” [folded greeting card affixed to postcard depicting children with snowman, obscuring lower half of image]
Date: [ca. 1908]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Good
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated December 22, 1908. Sent by Evelyn Gray to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, Louisiana.
Series V. Other Postcards
Subseries 1: Friendship
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 62
Subject: “All Good Wishes” [sack spilling gold coins]
Date: [ca. 1908]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Minor discoloration
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated April 18, 1908. Sent by “Bessie” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 63
Subject: “Accept this Offering as A Token By Simple Friendship Sent”
Date: [ca. 1910]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Corners chipped; surface wear
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated February 14, 1910. Sent by “Your True Valentine” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, . . . [New Orleans, La.].
Subseries 2: Comic Postcards
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 64
Subject: “Am Ready to Pack”
Date: c1903
Publisher: Raymond Howe, Chicago
Form:
Condition: Edges chipped
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated January 17, 1907. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 65
Subject: “When this meets your eye”
Date: [ca. 1906]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Corners creased; surface wear
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated September 22, 1906. Sent by “Cousin Cordie” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Miss.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 66
Subject: “I am having a [devil] of a time in ——”
Date: c1905
Publisher: Souvenir Post Card Co., New York
Form:
Condition: Corners creased; minor surface wear
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated July 10, 1906. Sent by “M. T.” [Marie Tassin?] to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Miss.
Subseries 3: Persons
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 67
Subject: “Chief Gall”
Date: [ca. 1904]
Publisher: E. Frey & Co. Publishers New York
Form:
Condition: Edges discolored
Remarks: Printed in Germany. Publisher no. 2387. Message from “Aunt Maud” to “Hathaway” [Gibbens] dated April 22, 1904, not mailed.
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 68
Subject: [Girl and boy holding flowers]
Date: [ca. 1908]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Edges chipped, affecting image
Remarks: Message consists of announcement of the birth of Clara Helen [Carpinteyro?] at New Orleans, Dec. 28, 1907; baptized, Ursuline Convent, Feb. 1st, 1908; mother, G. Carpinteyro; god-mother, Anita Hoeflich.
Subseries 4: Birds and Animals
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 69
Subject: [Sparrow defending saucer of feed from two pigeons]
Date: [ca. 1905]
Publisher:
Form:
Condition: Edges chipped, affecting image
Remarks: Signed by artist, Aug. Müller Münstier [?], 1905. Post office cancellation on reverse dated October 30, 1906. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, New Orleans, La.
Subseries 5: Other
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 70
Subject: “Souvenir of the Fair of 1905”
Date: [1905]
Publisher:
Form: Novelty postcard made of leather
Condition: Near mint
Remarks: Post office cancellation on reverse dated March 10, 1905. Sent to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Ursuline Convent, [New Orleans, La.].
Number: Aleman Estate (Hathaway Gibbens) Collection, No. 71
Subject: “Hold the Fort! for I am coming soon”
Date: [ca. 1908]
Publisher: Telegraph Comics
Form: Printed on postcard stock
Condition: Corners chipped away; extensive discoloration
Remarks: Message dated September 1, 1908. Sent by “Edna” to Miss Hathaway Gibbens, Bay St. Louis, Mississippi.