Skip to Main Content

MSS 197 - Judge John Minor Wisdom Collection

Container List

 

Series I.    Carnival Material

 

                        Subseries I.1.  Ball invitations, admit cards, dance cards, and programs (organized alphabetically by krewe).

 

197-1                                            Apollo.

                                                      Program, 1956.

 

                                                      Argonauts.

                                                      Invitation, 1909.

 

                                                      Atlanteans.

                                                      Programs, 1955, 1956, 1964, 1967.

                                                      Ribbon, 1940.

 

                                                      Comus.  See also 197-9; 197-11.

                                                      Admit cards, 1896, 1926, 1927, 1978.

                                                      Dance cards, 1891, 1902, 1903, 1910.

                                                Invitations, n.d., 1870, 1882, 1884, 1890, 1893, 1894, 1895, 1896, 1899, 1900, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1906, 1907, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1916, 1930 (includes admit cards), 1932, 1974 (includes admit card), 1976 (includes admit cards), 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1983.

                                                      Souvenir booklets, 1897, 1898, 1931.  See also 197-10.

 

                                                      Consus.

                                                      Dance card, 1906.

                                                      Invitation, 1898.

 

197-2                                            Elves of Oberon.

                                                      Admit cards, 1911, 1932.

                                                Dance cards, n.d., 1897, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1912, 1913, 1914.

                                                Invitations, n.d., 1896, 1897, 1898 (includes admit cards), 1899, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905 (includes admit cards), 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1932.

 

197-2                                            Empyreans.

                                                      Invitation, 1904.

 

197-3                                            Falstaffians.

                                                Dance cards, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1913, 1914 (includes admit cards), 1915.

                                                Invitations, n.d., 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1913, 1914 (includes admit cards), 1915.

 

197-4                                            High Priests of Mithras.

                                                      Dance cards, 1899, 1901, 1903, 1904, 1906, 1908, 1912.

                                                            Invitations, 1903, 1906.

 

                                                      Knights of Momus.

                                                            Dance cards, 1884, 1889, 1890, 1891, 1896, 1908, 1909, 1910.

                                                Invitations, n.d., 1884, 1891, 1908 (includes admit cards), 1910, 1972, 1977, 1978 (includes admit card), 1981 (includes admit cards), 1982, 1984 (includes admit cards), 1985 (includes admit cards).

                                                Louisiana Literary and Debating Society and Louisiana Club Ball and Parade Instructions.  February 18, 1949.

 

                                                      The Mystic Club.

                                                            Invitations, 1929, 1935, 1941.       

                                                      Programs, 1927, 1929, 1933, 1935, 1936, 1937, 1940, 1941, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1956, 1961, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1976, 1972.

 

197-5                                            Nereus.  See also 197-9.

                                                      Admit cards, n.d.

                                                Dance cards, 1896, 1897, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1910, 1913, 1914.

                                                Invitations, 1897 (includes admit cards), 1898, 1899, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1916.

 

                                                      No-Tsu-Oh (Houston, Texas, Carnival Organization)

                                                            Invitations, 1902.

 

197-6                                            Olympians.

                                                      Admit cards, 1916, 1917.

                                                Dance cards, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1915.

                                                Invitations, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908 (includes admit card), 1909, 1910, 1911 (includes admit card), 1912 (includes admit card), 1913, 1914 (includes admit card), 1915, 1916.

 

197-6                                            Phunny Phorty Phellows.  See also 197-9.

                                                      Invitations, 1883, 1896.

 

197-7                                            Proteus.  See also 197-9.

                                                      Admit cards, 1928, 1931.

                                                Dance cards, n.d., 1884, 1886, 1887, 1892, 1899, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1914.

                                                Invitations, n.d., 1884, 1886, 1887, 1888, 1890, 1891, 1892, 1893, 1895, 1896, 1899, 1900 (includes admit cards), 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911 (includes admit card), 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1974, 1980.

 

197-8                                            Rex.

                                                      Invitations, n.d., 1976, 1977, 1982, 1983, 1987.

                                                            Program, 1986.

                                                            Queen’s At Home Invitation, n.d.

                                                            Souvenir cards, n.d., 1980.

 

                                                      Twelfth Night Revelers.

                                                      Invitations, 1884, 1949.

                                                      Programs, 1952, 1954, 1956, 1957, 1964.

 

197-11                        Invitation from Mayor Martin Behrman for viewing Comus parade from City Hall, n.d.  See also 197-1.

 

                        Subseries II.  Newspaper editions illustrating Carnival parades.

 

197-9                          Comus.  See also 197-1; 197-11.

                                                M[istick] K[rewe of] C[omus] Edition Weekly Budget, March 11, 1876.

                                                            Comus Edition The Times-Democrat, February 26, 1884.

                                                            Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 14, 1893.

                                                      Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 6, 1894.

                                                            Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 26, 1895.

                                                            Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, March 2, 1897.

                                                      Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 22, 1898.

                                                            Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 14, 1899.

                                                            Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 27, 1900.

                                                      Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 19, 1901.

                                                            Comus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 11, 1902.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 7, 1905.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 12, 1907.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 3, 1908.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 23, 1909.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 8, 1910.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 20, 1912.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 4, 1913.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 24, 1914.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 16, 1915.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 7, 1916.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 20, 1917.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 4, 1924.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 16, 1926.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 1, 1927.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 21, 1928.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 12, 1929.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 4, 1930.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 25, 1936.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 1, 1938.

                                                      Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 21, 1939.

                                                            Comus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 25, 1941.

 

                                                      Knights of Hermes.  See also 197-10.

                                                            Knights of Hermes Carnival Edition, February 21, 1941.

 

197-9                                            Nereus.  See also 197-5.

                                                            Nereus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 21, 1900.

 

                                                      Phunny Phorty Phellows.  See also 197-6.

                                                            Phunny Phorty Phellows Edition Daily Item, February 18, 1896.

 

                                                      Proteus.  See also 197-7.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 25, 1895.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 17, 1896.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, March 1, 1897.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 21, 1898.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 13, 1899.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 26, 1900.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 18, 1901.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 10, 1902.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 23, 1903.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, March 6, 1905.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 26, 1906.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 11, 1907.

                                                            Proteus Edition The Daily Picayune, February 7, 1910.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 19, 1912.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 3, 1913.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 23, 1914.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 15, 1915.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 6, 1916.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 19, 1917.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 12, 1923.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 3, 1924.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 15, 1926.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 20, 1928.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 12, 1934.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 24, 1936.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 28, 1938.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 20, 1939.

                                                            Proteus Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 24, 1941.

 

197-14                                          Rex.   See also 197-8.

                                                            Rex Edition Weekly Budget, February 26, 1879.

                                                            Rex Edition Official Journal of Rex, March 1, 1881.

                                                            Rex Edition The Daily Picayune, February 26, 1895.

                                                            Rex Edition The Daily Picayune, February 18, 1896.

                                                            Rex Edition The Daily Picayune, March 2, 1897.

                                                            Rex Edition The Daily Picayune, February 22, 1898.

                                                            Rex Edition The Daily Picayune, February 14, 1899.

                                                            Rex Edition The Daily Picayune, February 19, 1901.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 11, 1902.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 16, 1904.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 7, 1905.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 12, 1907.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 3, 1908.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 23, 1909.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 8, 1910.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 28, 1911.

                                                      Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 20, 1912.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 4, 1913.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 24, 1914.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 16, 1915.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 7, 1916.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 20, 1917.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 28, 1922.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 13, 1923.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 4, 1924.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 16, 1926.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 21, 1928.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 12, 1929.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 28, 1933.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 13, 1934.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 25, 1936.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, March 1, 1938.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 21, 1939.

                                                            Rex Edition Carnival Bulletin, February 25, 1941.

 

                        Subseries I.3.  Souvenir Booklets.  See also 197-1.

197-10                        Knights of Babylon, 1940, 1941.

                                    Knights of Hermes, 1940.  See also 197-9.

                                    Krewe of Mid-City, 1941.

                                    Krewe of Venus, 1941.

 

 

Series II.        Non-Carnival Material

 

197-12            Special Officer Badge

                                    Arbitration Committee.

                                    Provenance unknown. n.d.

 

197-13            Young Men’s Gymnastic Association material.  Includes Ladies Entertainment dance card and a gymnastic meet program.  November 5, 1903; February 14, 1905.