Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Journal Collections
JSTOR - This electronic archive of core academic journals contains about 240 history journals and 116 political science journals. Coverage for most titles is for older volumes only (missing latest 3-7 years).
Project Muse - This collection of electronic journals includes current issues and some back volumes (archival coverage varies by title) for about 50 history journals and about 30 politics and policy studies journals.
Academic Search Complete
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCO host.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (For coverage of non North American history see Historical Abstracts). AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Includes links to full text articles from The History Cooperative,Project Muse, and JSTOR.
America's Historical Newspapers
The collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers. Includes access to the New Orleans Times-Picayune from 1837-1988.
Historical Abstracts indexes the world's periodical literature in history and the related social sciences and humanities, including article abstracts, and bibliographic citations of books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered by America: History and Life. Provides indexing of more than 2000 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Includes links to full text articles from The History Co
History Reference Center
This database features full text for more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals in various disciplines. It attempts to maintain complete journal holdings from the first volume, but current volumes (from the past three to six years) are not included.
Newsbank - America's Newspapers
Listing of all Newsbank databases available to the University of New Orleans users.
Louisiana newspapers including The Times-Picayune (1989-current), and The Advocate(1986-current)
America's Historical Newspapers
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
SocINDEX with Full Text
This product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
Women and Social Movements
This website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.