Print Resources
For these print indices, you will generally search the volume for the year in which the book was originally published as well as the following year. Look under the author's name.
Book Review Digest
This source lists reviews in major newspapers and popular journals. Excerpts from some reviews are included.
Years covered: 1905 - 1999
Call Number: Z1219.C95
Current Location: Third Floor, Aisle 3
Book Review Index
This source lists reviews in major newspapers, popular magazines, and some scholarly journals. More titles are indexed here than in Book Review Digest, but no excerpts are included.
Years covered: 1965 - 2004
Call Number: Z1035.A1B6
Current Location: Third Floor, Aisle 3
Combined Retrospective Index to Bk. Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802 - 1974
This index focuses on reviews from scholarly journals.
Years Coveered: 1802 - 1974
Call Number: Z1035.A1C63
Current Location: Third Floor, Aisle 3
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
This source includes reviews from popular magazines. The reviews are listed separately at the back of each volume and are arranged alphabetically by author.
Years covered: 1900 - 2000
Call Number: A13.R4V.54
Current Location: Third Floor, Aisle 3
Electronic Resources -- General
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides information from news,business, legal, medical and general reference sources
Electronic Sources -- Specific Disciplines
These more specialized databases also allow yoou to do a search limited to "review" or "book review" as a type of document.
- Business Source Complete Includes searchable cited references, author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database, and over 10,000 full text sources including academic journals, industry profiles, trade publications, etc. Available via EBSCOhost.
- CompendexCovers the whole spectrum of Engineering disciplines. Contains over 5 million references with 500,000 added annually from 5,000 journals, conferences and technical reports.
- JSTORJSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals in various disciplines. It attempts to maintain complete journal holdings from the first volume, but current volumes (from the past three to six years) are not included.
- LISTA with Full Text (Library Information Science and Technology Abstracts with Full-textLISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. Coverage is 1966-present.
- Music Index OnlineAn index to 640 international music journals (1976-present)
- Project MuseThis collection of electronic journals covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. Coverage for individual titles varies but is generally from the late 1990's to the present.
- Web of Science This database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |





Loading...
