Let us know what you think about creating a Digital Media Lab in the Earl K. Long Library. Please take our survey.|
Last Updated: Aug 11, 2014
Great places to start your chemistry research. These databases have
citations to thousands of articles, and sometimes have links to the
full-text of the articles.
- Scifinder Scholar
Allows you to search for articles and patents in many areas of Chemistry. Special software is required and is installed on the Reference Area computers on the first floor of the Library. UNO faculty, students and staff may obtain the software by contacting the Science Librarian.
- SciFinder Scholar - Registration Link
Use this link to register for access to SciFinder Scholar. Registration must be done on campus.
- Web of Science
Contains citations to articles from all scientific disciplines. You can search by topic, author, and title, and also by citation (i.e., look up which other articles and authors have cited an article you know about). Also called the "Science Citation Index".
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free resource that contains citations to journal articles mostly in science, technology and medicine. If you use this link to Google Scholar, or set your Google Scholar preferences to include UNO, it will provide links to full-text articles courtesy of the UNO Library.
Focuses on medical information, but is also a great source of citations to articles about biochemistry, pharmaceuticals, and cellular & molecular biology. MEDLINE is also known as PubMed and can be searched at the NCBI website, but using the interface available from this page will give you more links to full-text journals in your results.
Contains information about the structures and biological activities of small molecules. Search for molecules using names, synonyms, keywords or chemical structure drawings.
Contains citations to articles and other sources with information about toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases.
- Academic Search Complete
A large general database containing citations to both popular and scholarly articles about an enormous range of topics (not just science!). Articles found from this database will likely be less specialized than those found in science-specific databases.