Purpose of the Code of Conduct
University of New Orleans students, staff, faculty, and guest users of the Earl K. Long Library are expected and required to abide by the laws of the State of Louisiana and of the United States and the rules and regulations of the University of New Orleans, to conduct themselves in accordance with accepted standards of social behavior, to respect the rights of others, and to refrain from any conduct which tends to obstruct the work of the university or to be injurious to the university.
The Earl K. Long Library strives to provide high quality, professional service to all of its patrons, including those from the New Orleans area and other parts of the State of Louisiana, the nation, and the world, as well as members of the UNO community. Patrons receive the most effective service when everyone conforms to the provisions of the Library Code of Conduct. Failure to show respect for duly established civil laws or university regulations will be handled in conformance with the various policies and regulations set forth by the University of New Orleans.
Use of buildings and equipment
- Computers - Engaging in unauthorized use of library computers or purposely modifying or tampering with computer workstations, components, or default settings is not permitted. See UNO IT User Policy http://www.uno.edu/student-affairs-enrollment-management/student-policies/computer-usage.aspx and especially the Usage Policy for the Library’s Public Access Computers at http://library.uno.edu/aboutus/policies/pubpcs.cfm.
- Nonpublic areas - Patrons may not occupy the library when it is closed or during emergency drills or evacuations, or enter nonpublic areas such as staff work rooms, offices, closed stacks, areas behind reference desks, and storage areas, unless accompanying a staff member to his or her office. Emergency exits may be opened only in emergency situations.
- Vandalism - Vandalizing or defacing library buildings, furniture, or equipment, or engaging in behavior that could do so, is prohibited by the University of New Orleans Judicial Code. See the Student Handbook starting on page 21: http://www.uno.edu/student-affairs-enrollment-management/documents/student-handbook.pdf
Use and protection of the collections
Library materials - The University of New Orleans Judicial Code expressly forbids “misuse or unauthorized use of library materials, including but not limited to, theft, vandalism or malicious destruction.” This includes defacing, mutilating, or otherwise damaging library materials or engaging in behavior that could do so; failing to return or renew materials when due, or to pay fines or other charges; and deliberately misplacing library materials. Additional regulations exist to safeguard original materials in the Louisiana and Special Collections Department. See the Student Handbook starting on page 21: http://www.uno.edu/student-affairs-enrollment-management/documents/student-handbook.pdf.
The library environment
Alcoholic beverages - Public intoxication or consumption of alcoholic beverages in the library will result in an immediate call to University Police. With the approval of the Dean of Library Services, alcoholic beverages may be served in designated locations at university-sponsored receptions and other special events held in the library. See the university’s Alcohol Sale and Consumption Policy at http://www.uno.edu/president/administrative-policies/documents/AP-SA-02.2-Alcohol-and-Drugs-4-30-14.pdf.
- Animals - Animals are not permitted in the library, with the exception of working animals assisting disabled persons.
- Beverages - Nonalcoholic beverages are permitted in containers with lids. No beverages in containers of any kind are permitted in the Louisiana and Special Collections Department. Please see the Library’s Food and Drink Policy.
- Cell phones - In accordance with university policy, ringers on cell phones, pagers, and similar devices must be turned off in the library. Calls may be placed and received only in the lobby areas of all four floors and the snack lounge at the rear of the first floor. Calls to the IT help desk are permitted at computer workstations.
- Children - Patrons accompanied by children are responsible for ensuring that their behavior conforms to this Library Code of Conduct.
- Conversation - Except in areas designated for silent study, quiet conversation is permitted as long as it does not disturb other patrons. The Library’s Learning Commons is an area where students are encouraged to do group work and because of this, the volume will be louder in this space than in other areas of the library.
- Drugs - The University of New Orleans maintains a drug-free campus. Use, possession, or sale of illegal drugs shall not be tolerated and shall be reported immediately to University Police. See the campus policy at http://www.uno.edu/president/administrative-policies/documents/AP-SA-02.2-Alcohol-and-Drugs-4-30-14.pdf.
- Food - Food may be consumed on the first floor of the Library. With the approval of the Dean of Library Services, food may be served in designated locations at university-sponsored receptions and other special events held in the library. Please see the Library’s Food and Drink Policy.
- Language - Abusive, threatening, or obscene language shall not be tolerated.
- Loitering - Loitering in the library is not permitted. Persons who are not studying or using library resources or services will be required to leave.
- Noise - In an atmosphere intended to be conducive to research and study, excessive noise (for example, loud talking, singing, frequent beeping or other sounds from a laptop computer or other device, or audibly playing music, or television) is not allowed.
- Personal belongings - Patrons are responsible for the security of their personal belongings and for ensuring that their belongings do not impinge on others’ access to library materials, equipment, furniture, and passageways. Additional regulations concerning personal belongings apply in the Louisiana and Special Collections Department. The library reserves the right for staff and security personnel to inspect all purses, briefcases, bags, backpacks, and other containers.
- Running - Running in the library is prohibited.
- Sales, soliciting - Selling, distributing free samples, petitioning, advertising, or soliciting patrons and staff for contributions or support is not permitted in the library. See the university’s Selling and Soliciting on Campus Policy at http://www.uno.edu/president/administrative-policies/documents/AP-BA-14.2-Guidelines-for-Soliciting-or-Selling-on-Campus.pdf.
- Sexual harassment - Any form of sexual misconduct, including exposure, offensive touching, or sexual harassment of other patrons or staff shall result in an immediate call to University Police. See the University of New Orleans Sexual Misconduct Reporting and Resolutions Procedures.
- Sports and equipment - To ensure the safety of all library users, bicycling, skateboarding, roller skating, roller blading, and playing ball and other games are not permitted in the library or surrounding walks, steps, and ramps. Bicycles may not be brought into the library.
- Theft - Theft is the misappropriation or taking of anything of value which belongs to another, either without the consent of the other . . . or by means of fraudulent conduct, practices, or representations (LA R.S. 14:67). See also below under Library materials and the appended Policy on Security of Library Materials.
- Threatening, disruptive, or disorderly behavior - Physical, verbal, or visual behavior that poses a clear and present threat to the personal health, safety, or well-being of patrons or staff shall not be tolerated. See the Student Handbook starting on page 21: http://www.uno.edu/student-affairs-enrollment-management/documents/student-handbook.pdf.
- Tobacco - UNO is a smoke free campus. Smoking and the use of tobacco products are forbidden on campus and e-cigarretes and vaping are prohibited within 25 feet of the entrance to the building.
- Trip Hazards - Cables, power cords or any personal equipment is not allowed to be stretched across aisles or passageways.
- Weapons - The University of New Orleans Judicial Code expressly prohibits “possession, use, or threatened use of dangerous items including but not limited to firearms, weapons, fireworks or any gas liquid or other substance or instrumentality, which in the manner used, is calculated or likely to produce death or great bodily harm.” See http://www.uno.edu/student-affairs-enrollment-management/documents/weaponspolicy.pdf.
Consequences of Breaching the Code of Conduct
All patrons using the library’s services and resources are expected to respect others’ rights to equal enjoyment of that privilege. Behavior that consciously or unconsciously disrupts, threatens, inhibits, or interferes with another patron’s exercise of his or her right to use the library’s resources and services, or a staff member’s ability to perform his or her duties, is unacceptable and shall not be tolerated. When disruptive behavior occurs, staff members are authorized to implement the following procedures:
A patron who engages in disruptive behavior will be told that his or her actions are inappropriate and will be asked to stop.
After two verbal warnings, the patron may be asked to leave.
If a patron refuses to stop the disruptive behavior, becomes verbally abusive, or refuses to leave, University Police officers shall be summoned.
If the behavior is threatening in any way, University Police shall be called immediately.
Information on incidents that involve calling University Police or asking a patron to leave shall be documented in writing and filed in Library Administration. This confidential information may be used in any decision to restrict the patron’s use of the library.
Last reviewed 12/10/2015