Ask A Librarian
Reference Phone: 504.280.6549
If we're online, but don't respond to your chat message, we may be helping another student. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org or leave your contact information in the chat message. We'll get back to you!
How to Find Books and Journals
To find books and e-books on Computer Science you can search the Library Catalog by keyword, author, title, or subject. If you don't find what you're looking for the first time, don't give up! Search again using alternate words, different spellings, or a shortened version of your search term.
You may also search the Library's electronic book collections separately and you may want to search WorldCat for titles not owned by the Library. These can be requested through interlibrary loan. All of these databases are listed in the Computer Science Database List.
Alternately, you can browse for what you need on the bookshelves on the 2nd floor of the library, aisle 2, using the following call numbers QA75.5 – 76.95.
How do I find journals?
The Library holds journals in either print or electronic formats. There are several ways to find out if UNO has a particular journal:
- If you know the name of the journal you're looking for, search the Library Catalog using our "Browse Search" function located on the right side of the screen, under "Catalog Searches." At the next screen, type the journal's title in the search box and click "periodical title." From the results list, just select the journal you were looking for.
- If you don't know exactly what you're looking for, try searching the Library Catalog by entering "computer science periodicals" in the search box next to the "subject" option and clicking search. This should give you an idea of some of the journals that UNO has in your subject area.
- Alternately, you can browse and search only those journals that UNO has access to electronically by going to our E-journals page. From there you can search for a specific journal by name. To browse journals by subject, just click on the "Subject" tab at the top of the screen, then select "Science" from the drop-down menu and "Mathematics" on the following screen. The results list will include both mathematics and computer science journals.
How do I find journal articles?
- The best way to find articles on topics in computer science is to go to the Library's Computer Science database list. Any of the databases on this list will provide you with a list of articles on whatever topic you're interested in. Not all of the articles retrieved from these databases will necessarily be available full-text online so if you run into that situation, figure out which journal the article is in and use the directions above to see if UNO has that journal in print or electronically.
If you're attempting to access an e-book in one of UNO's databases from off-campus, when you click on a database name, you'll be taken to a screen that looks like this. Follow the directions to log-in. If you don't know your PIN or have never set up a PIN, click "Email My PIN" and a PIN will be emailed your UNO email account.
If you can't find the book you're looking for, try our Interlibrary Loan service! Request the book through our iLLiad system and we'll get the book from another library for you for free.