: - MSS 303 - Karen Harris Collection of Printed Ephemera - Library Guides at University of New Orleans

MSS 303

KAREN HARRIS COLLECTION OF PRINTED EPHEMERA

(Mss 303)

Earl K. Long Library

University of New Orleans

March 2002

Summary

Size: .5 linear foot

Geographic

locations: New Orleans, Franklin, Houma, and Thibodaux, La.; Melbourne, Australia

Inclusive

dates: ca. 1890-1913

Summary: Ephemera accumulated by Karen H. Harris, Professor Emerita of Library Science. The collection includes apothecary labels collected by Mrs. Harris’s uncle, a New Orleans pharmacist.

Related

collections: K & B Archives (Mss 310); K & B Archives, Addendum 1 (Mss 313); K & B Archives, Addendum 2 (Mss 314); K & B Archives, Addendum 3 (Mss 315)

Source: Gift, March 2002

Access: No restrictions

Copyright: Physical rights are retained by the Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans.

Citation: Karen Harris Collection of Printed Ephemera, Earl K. Long Library, University of New Orleans

List of Series and Subseries

Series I. Materials associated with pharmacy

Subseries I.1 Product labels

Subseries I.2 Periodicals

Series II. Performing arts programs and periodicals

Container List

Series I. Materials associated with pharmacy

Subseries I.1. Product labels

303-1 Albert’s Pharmacy (New Orleans, La.). 2 items.

French Looch for Cough

Hartshorn

303-2 Ames Laboratory (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Eureka Hair Tonic

303-3 Belanger (H. F.) Co. (Houma, La.). 1 item.

Flax Seed Meal

303-4 Bradburn (W. P.), Pharmacist (New Orleans, La.). 8 items.

Alcohol

Gum Arabic

Hoffman’s Drops

Orange Flower Water

Perfumed Castor Oil (2 copies)

Sabadilla Seeds

Tinct. [Tincture of] Iron

303-5 Delahoussaye (A. J.), Pharmacist (Franklin, La.). 2 items.

Sweet Spirits Nitre (2 copies)

303-6 Domestic Remedy Co. (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Universal Headache Tablets

303-7 Earbern Laboratories (New Orleans, La.). 2 items.

Coco-Shampoo

Kreo-Koff

303-8 Fourment (John), Druggist and Apothecary (New Orleans, La.). 14 items.

Aqua Ammonia

Assafoetida

Baume Tranquille (2 copies)

Borax

Cod-Liver Oil

Dewee’s Carminative

Hair Oil

Laudanum

Powdered Alum

Sedative Water (2 copies)

Sugar Lead (2 copies)

303-9 Galle (Joseph E.), Pharmacist (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Glycerine

303-10 Hart (E. J.) & Co., Ltd., Manufacturing Chemists (New Orleans, La.). 7 items.

Antiseptic

Lac-Bismo (6 labels, all different)

303-11 Hébert (C. C.) Pharmacy (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Benedict’s Solution

303-12 Herpesine Co. (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Arabian Toothache Drops

303-13 Hills (S. W.), Pharmacist and Chemist (New Orleans, La.). 2 items.

Ess. [Essence of] Peppermint

Paregoric

303-14 Hood & Co., Chemists (Melbourne). 3 items.

Dr. Marshall’s Pile Ointment (2)

Menthol, Eucalyptus & Cinnamon Pastilles

303-15 Javelet (Albert), Druggist (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Black Diamond Powder

303-16 Larrieu (E. A.), Apothecary (New Orleans, La.). 28 items.

[Generic label for “E. A. Larrieu, Pharmacien-Droguiste”]

Aromatic Spts. [Spirits of] Ammonia

Balsam Capaiva

Baume de Vie (2 copies)

Brown Mixture

Chlorate of Potash

Cholera Drops

Citrate of Magnesia

Eau-de-vie de Gayac (2 copies)

Elder Flowers

Elixir de Viande Nutritif

Elixir of Calisaya Bark, with Iron

Epsom Salts

Extract of Lemon

Fleurs de Tilleul

Oil Cloves

Oil Sweet Almonds

Paregoric

Pure Newfoundland Cod Liver Oil

Rose Honey

Sure Cure No. 26

Tinct. [Tincture of] Assafoetina

Tinct. [Tincture of] Iodine

Vin de Quinquina

Zaze et Lise Cologne (2 copies)

303-17 Legendre’s Drug Store (New Orleans, La.). 10 items.

Ant Poison (4 copies)

Bay Rum

Cresoperls

Eau de Cologne (2 copies)

Soap Liniment

Tincture Myrrh

303-18 Lyons (I. L.) & Co., Ltd. (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

Comp. Spirit Ether

303-19 Mainegra’s Pharmacy (New Orleans, La.). 3 items.

Brown Mixture (no list of ingredients)

Brown Mixture (with list of ingredients, 2 copies)

303-20 Meyer Drug Store (Thibodaux, La.). 34 items.

Alimentary Elixir

Aromatic Syrup Rhubarb (3 copies)

Assafoetida

Balsam Copaiba

Bay Rum

Camphor Grease

Canary Seeds (2 copies)

Cinchona

Cologne

Cologne Water

Epsom Salts

Ess. [Essence of] Banana

Ess. [Essence of] Jamaica Ginger

Ess. [Essence] of Lemon

Ess. [Essence of] Strawberry

Florida Water

Glycerine

Insect Powd’r [Powder]

Iron Rust

Meyer’s Itch Ointment (2 copies)

Powd. [Powder of] Mustard

Prepared Chalk

Quinine

Rochelle Salts (2 copies)

Spts. [Spirits of] Turpentine (2 copies)

Syrup Tolu

Tinct. [Tincture of] Arnica

Zinc Oxide Ointment

303-21 Mucoseptin Chemical Co. (New Orleans, La.). 2 items.

[Generic label attesting to the authenticity of the product]

Mucoseptin Antiseptic

303-22 Purity Pharmacy (New Orleans, La.). 20 items.

Carbolic Acid (4 copies)

Comp. Licorice Powder (2 copies)

Glyco-Thymoline

Javelle Water (5 copies)

Lysol

Muriatic Acid

Sideritis (2 copies)

Sweet Spirit of Nitre (2 copies)

Syr. [Syrup] of Ipecac

Tinct. [Tincture of] Larkspur

303-23 Ramos (H. C.), (New Orleans, La.). 1 item.

“Imperial Cabinet” [aluminum card; on verso: calendar for 1902]

303-24 Samson (Max), Inc., Pharmacists (New Orleans, La.). 12 items.

Cold Cream

Compound Extract of Sasparilla and Stillingia with Iodide Potassium

Crescent Hair Tonic
English Lavender Water (2 copies)

Gasoline

Neroli Cologne

Placidia

Samson’s Fruit Laxative

Tuma’s Diarrhoea Cordial (3 copies)

303-25 Schapire (J.), Pharmacien (New Orleans, La.). 4 items.

Eau de Sedlitz

Eau Sedative

Oxymel

Vin de Quinquina

303-26 Washington Ave. Pharmacy (New Orleans, La.). 9 items.

Aromatic Cascara

Dewee’s Carminative

Listerine

Milk Asafoetida (2 copies)

Pure Norwegian Cod Liver Oil (3 copies)

Toothache Drops

303-27 Miscellaneous labels. 2 items.

Murine

Superior Bay Rum

Subseries I.2. Periodicals

303-28 The Druggists Circular and Chemical Gazette 39 (November 1895).

303-29 The National Druggist 30 (April 1900).

303-30 The Pharmaceutical Era 16 (August 6, 1896).

Series II. Performing arts programs and periodicals

303-31 Brooke and His Famous Chicago Marine Band. “Saturday, July 10, 1897.”

303-32 The Grand (New Orleans, La.). “L’Ami Fritz, Comedy in 3 acts by M. Erckmann-Chatrain.” [ca. February-March 1894].

303-33 The Grand (New Orleans, La.). “Frou-Frou, Comedy in 5 acts by Meilhac and Halevy.” [ca. February-March 1894].

303-34 New Orleans Theatre Gazette. “Bidwell’s New St. Charles Theatre. . . . Commencing Sunday, Oct. 18th . . . The Mikado!” [1886?].

303-35 New Orleans Theatre Gazette. “Grand Opera House . . . Sunday Evening, Nov. 8. . . . Edward E. Kidder’s Romantic Drama, Niagara, The Adventuress.” [1886?].

303-36 New Orleans Theatre Gazette. “Grand Opera House . . . A Short Season of Grand Italian Opera by the Milan Opera Company . . . Commencing Sunday, Nov. 15.” On p. [2]: La Traviata.

303-37 New Orleans Theatre Gazette. “Grand Opera House . . . A Short Season of Grand Italian Opera by the Milan Opera Company . . . Commencing Sunday, Nov. 15.” On p. [2]: Il Trovatore. [1886?].

303-38 New Orleans. World’s Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition, 1884-1885. Music Hall. “Souvenir and Musical Programme of Music Hall, World’s Exposition, 1885. [New Orleans] (12 Union St., [New Orleans]): Patterson & Co., Printers, 1885. Program for “German Day,” Sunday, March 15th, 1885.

303-39 Original Fabacher’s Restaurant. “Program, F. Ramos’ Orchestra.” Printed on p. [4] of dinner menu, Monday, June 2, 1913.

303-40 West End. “Programme. Paoletti’s Concert Band. Saturday, July 11, 1896.” With sheet music for “They All Love Jack,” lyrics by F. E. Weatherly, music by Stephen Adams.

Grand Opera House ticket.

Index Terms

New Orleans. World’s Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition, 1884-1885

Opera—Louisiana—New Orleans

Performing Arts—Louisiana—New Orleans

Pharmacy—Louisiana—New Orleans

Theater—Louisiana—New Orleans

MSS 303 - Karen Harris Collection of Printed Ephemera: :

MSS 303