Exhibit: Bibliography for the Exhibit "Highlighting LGBTQ Books and Archives in New Orleans"
Highlighting LGBTQ Books & Archives in New Orleans
Want to learn more about the LGBTQ history of New Orleans, including literary giants, the work of local activists, Southern Decadence, Mardi Gras, and more? Come check out the new summer exhibit in the Special Collections Exhibits Gallery: Highlighting LGBTQ Books & Archives in New Orleans
This exhibit highlights books and archival materials related to the LGBTQ community within the Louisiana Collection and the Special Collections of the University of New Orleans. The majority of these materials: are about the LGBTQ community of New Orleans; chronicle LGBTQ history in New Orleans; and are written by LGBTQ voices from New Orleans and/or Louisiana.
This exhibit will be on view from June through August 2024.
Bibliography for the Exhibit "Highlighting LGBTQ Books and Archives in New Orleans"
This bibliography of books and newspapers accompanies the exhibit, which highlights books and archival materials related to the LGBTQ community within the Louisiana Collection and the Special Collections of the University of New Orleans.
Feedback
Yes: 4 votes (100%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 4
Have more feedback?
- Library Comments/SuggestionsPlease use the library's Comment/Suggestion form to share your feedback.
Tennessee Williams
Tennessee Williams' Letters to Donald Windham, 1940-1965 by Call Number: PS3545.I5365 Z548 1977 Special CollectionsISBN: 9780030226366Publication Date: 1977
Tennessee Williams and the South by
No other writer has been more closely connected to the region of his birth than Tennessee Williams. Indeed, he remarked on several occasions that the farther south one went in America, the more congenial life was. He wrote, he said, not only of the present but also of the past and of a South that had no counterpart anywhere else. Combining his words with pictures, this biographical album reveals the closeness of Williams to the American South. Although he roamed far, he never forgot the "more congenial climate" the South afforded him and his creativity. Williams was born in Mississippi in 1911 and lived there with his family until he was seven. Thomas Lanier Williams, who became "Tennessee, " absorbed much of his creative material from this Mississippi home place. Many of his ancestors were distinguished Tennesseans, a fact in which he took considerable pride. Although he grew to maturity in St. Louis, it was to the South that he continually returned in his memory and in his imagination. It was in New Orleans and Key West that he chose to spend a large part of his later years. His characters -- Amanda Wingfield in The Glass Menagerie, Alma Winemiller in Summer and Smoke, and Blanche DuBois in A Streetcar Named Desire -- are victims of having outlived the southern past in which they had been at home. Unlike them, despite the region's industrial transformation, Williams always found the South his own. This book underscores that intimate connection by featuring photographs of people and places that influenced him. Enhanced with a long essay and captioned with quotations from Williams's plays, memoirs, and letters, more than one hundred pictures document the keen sense of place thathe felt throughout his life and career.
Call Number: PS3545 .I5365 Z69 2002 Book Shelves and Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781578064106Publication Date: 2002
Truman Capote
Portraits and Observations : the essays of Truman Capote. by
Perhaps no twentieth century writer was so observant and elegant a chronicler of his times as Truman Capote. Whether he was profiling the rich and famous or creating indelible word-pictures of events and places near and far, Capote’s eye for detail and dazzling style made his reportage and commentary undeniable triumphs of the form. Portraits and Observations is the first volume devoted solely to all the essays ever published by this most beloved of writers. From his travel sketches of Brooklyn, New Orleans, and Hollywood, written when he was twenty-two, to meditations about fame, fortune, and the writer’s art at the peak of his career, to the brief works penned during the isolated denouement of his life, these essays provide an essential window into mid-twentieth-century America as offered by one of its canniest observers. Included are such celebrated masterpieces of narrative nonfiction as “The Muses Are Heard” and the short nonfiction novel “Handcarved Coffins,” as well as many long-out-of-print essays, including portraits of Isak Dinesen, Mae West, Marcel Duchamp, Humphrey Bogart, and Marilyn Monroe. Among the highlights are “Ghosts in Sunlight: The Filming of In Cold Blood, “Preface to Music for Chameleons, in which Capote candidly recounts the highs and lows of his long career, and a playful self-portrait in the form of an imaginary self-interview. The book concludes with the author’s last written words, composed the day before his death in 1984, the recently discovered “Remembering Willa Cather,” Capote’s touching recollection of his encounter with the author when he was a young man at the dawn of his career. Portraits and Observations puts on display the full spectrum of Truman Capote’s brilliance. Certainly, Capote was, as Somerset Maugham famously called him, “a stylist of the first quality.” But as the pieces gathered here remind us, he was also an artist of remarkable substance.
Call Number: PS3505 .A59 Z473 2007 Book Shelves and Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781400066612Publication Date: 2007
Lovers and Beloveds : sexual otherness in Southern fiction, 1936-1961 by
A challenge to traditional criticism, this engaging study demonstrates that issues of sexuality - and same-sex desire in particular - were of central importance in the literary production of the Southern Renaissance. Especially during the 1940s and 1950s, the national literary establishment tacitly designated the South as an allowable setting for fictionalized deviancy, thus permitting southern writers tremendous freedom to explore sexual otherness. In Lovers and Beloveds, Gary Richards draws on contemporary theories of sexuality in reading the fiction of six writers of the era who accepted that potentially pejorative characterization as an opportunity: Truman Capote, William Goyen, Harper Lee, Carson McCullers, Lillian Smith, and Richard Wright. Richards skillfully juxtaposes forgotten texts by those writers with their canonical works to identify the complex narratives of same-sex desire. In their novels and stories, the authors consistently reimagine gender roles, centralize homoeroticism, and probe its relationship with class, race, biological sex, and southern identity. tradition for the region but nevertheless frustrate efforts to define southern literature along conventional lines. This is the first book to assess the significance of same-sex desire in a broad range of southern texts, making a crucial contribution to the study of both literature and sexuality. Highly readable and thoughtful in its arguments, Lovers and Beloveds reorients southern literature's outsider status as - not detrimental to its vitality but - liberating indeed.
Call Number: PS374 .H63 R53 2005 Book ShelvesISBN: 9780807130513Publication Date: 2005
So Famous and So Gay : the fabulous potency of Truman Capote and Gertrude Stein by
Gertrude Stein (1874-1946) and Truman Capote (1924-1984) should not have been famous. They made their names between the Oscar Wilde trial and Stonewall, when homosexuality meant criminality and perversion. And yet both Stein and Capote, openly and exclusively gay, built their outsize reputations on works that directly featured homosexuality and a queer aesthetic. How did these writers become mass-market celebrities while other gay public figures were closeted or censored? And what did their fame mean for queer writers and readers, and for the culture in general? Jeff Solomon explores these questions in So Famous and So Gay. Celebrating lesbian partnership, The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas was published in 1933 and rocketed Stein, the Jewish lesbian intellectual avant-garde American expatriate, to international stardom and a mass-market readership. Fifteen years later, when Capote published Other Voices, Other Rooms, a novel of explicit homosexual sex and love, his fame itself became famous. Through original archival research, Solomon traces the construction and impact of the writers' public personae from a gay-affirmative perspective. He historically situates author photos, celebrity gossip, and other ephemera to explain how Stein and Capote expressed homosexuality and negotiated homophobia through the fleeting depiction of what could not be directly written--maneuvers that other gay writers such as Gore Vidal, Tennessee Williams, and James Baldwin could not manage at the time. Finally So Famous and So Gay reveals what Capote's and Stein's debuts, Other Voices, Other Rooms and Three Lives, held for queer readers in terms of gay identity and psychology--and for gay authors who wrote in their wake.
Call Number: online - UNO access onlyISBN: 9781452915661Publication Date: 2017
History
Out for Queer Blood : the murder of Fernando Rios and the failure of New Orleans justice by
On a September night in 1958, three New Orleans college students went looking for a gay man to assault. They chose Fernando Rios, who died from the beating he received. In perhaps the earliest example of the "gay panic" defense, the three defendants argued that they had no choice but to beat Rios because he had made an "improper advance." When the jury acquitted the three, the courtroom cheered. The author offers a detailed examination of the murder and the trial.
Call Number: HV6534 .N45 D465 2017 Louisiana Collection and onlineISBN: 9781476668840Publication Date: 2017
Out for Queer Blood : the murder of Fernando Rios and the failure of New Orleans justice by
On a September night in 1958, three New Orleans college students went looking for a gay man to assault. They chose Fernando Rios, who died from the beating he received. In perhaps the earliest example of the "gay panic" defense, the three defendants argued that they had no choice but to beat Rios because he had made an "improper advance." When the jury acquitted the three, the courtroom cheered. The author offers a detailed examination of the murder and the trial.
Call Number: online - UNO access onlyISBN: 9781476629872Publication Date: 2017
Cruising for Conspirators : how a New Orleans DA prosecuted the Kennedy assassination as a sex crime by
New Orleans district attorney Jim Garrison's decision to arrest Clay Shaw on March 1, 1967, set off a chain of events that culminated in the only prosecution undertaken in the assassination of John F. Kennedy. In the decades since Garrison captured headlines with this high-profile legal spectacle, historians, conspiracy advocates, and Hollywood directors alike have fixated on how a New Orleans-based assassination conspiracy might have worked. Cruising for Conspirators settles the debate for good, conclusively showing that the Shaw prosecution was not based in fact but was a product of the criminal justice system's long-standing preoccupation with homosexuality. Tapping into the public's willingness to take seriously conspiratorial explanations of the Kennedy assassination, Garrison drew on the copious files the New Orleans police had accumulated as they surveilled, harassed, and arrested increasingly large numbers of gay men in the early 1960s. He blended unfounded accusations with homophobia to produce a salacious story of a New Orleans-based scheme to assassinate JFK that would become a national phenomenon. At once a dramatic courtroom narrative and a deeper meditation on the enduring power of homophobia, Cruising for Conspirators shows how the same dynamics that promoted Garrison's unjust prosecution continue to inform conspiratorial thinking to this day.
Call Number: KF224 .S45 L66 2021 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781469662732Publication Date: 2021
Cruising for Conspirators : how a New Orleans DA prosecuted the Kennedy assassination as a sex crime by
New Orleans district attorney Jim Garrison's decision to arrest Clay Shaw on March 1, 1967, set off a chain of events that culminated in the only prosecution undertaken in the assassination of John F. Kennedy. In the decades since Garrison captured headlines with this high-profile legal spectacle, historians, conspiracy advocates, and Hollywood directors alike have fixated on how a New Orleans-based assassination conspiracy might have worked. Cruising for Conspirators settles the debate for good, conclusively showing that the Shaw prosecution was not based in fact but was a product of the criminal justice system's long-standing preoccupation with homosexuality. Tapping into the public's willingness to take seriously conspiratorial explanations of the Kennedy assassination, Garrison drew on the copious files the New Orleans police had accumulated as they surveilled, harassed, and arrested increasingly large numbers of gay men in the early 1960s. He blended unfounded accusations with homophobia to produce a salacious story of a New Orleans-based scheme to assassinate JFK that would become a national phenomenon. At once a dramatic courtroom narrative and a deeper meditation on the enduring power of homophobia, Cruising for Conspirators shows how the same dynamics that promoted Garrison's unjust prosecution continue to inform conspiratorial thinking to this day.
Call Number: online - UNO access onlyISBN: 9781469662749Publication Date: 2021
Unveiling the Muse : the lost history of gay carnival in New Orleans by
Traditional Carnival has been well documented with a vast array of books published on the subject. However, few of them, if any, mention gay Carnival krewes or the role of gay Carnival within the larger context of the season. Howard Philips Smith corrects this oversight with a beautiful, vibrant, and exciting account of gay Carnival. Gay krewes were first formed in the late 1950s, growing out of costume parties held by members of the gay community. Their tableau balls were often held in clandestine locations to avoid harassment. Even by the new millennium, gay Carnival remained a hidden and almost lost history. Much of the history and the krewes themselves were devastated by the AIDS crisis. Whether facing police raids in the 1960s or AIDS in the 1980s, the Carnival krewes always came back each season. A culmination of two decades of research, Unveiling the Muse positions this incredible story within its proper place as an amazing and important facet of traditional Carnival. Based on years of detailed interviews, each of the major gay krewes is represented by an in-depth historical sketch, outlining the founders, moments of brilliance on stage, and a list of all the balls, themes, and royalty. Of critical importance to this history is the colorful ephemera associated with the gay tableau balls. Reproductions of never-before-published brilliantly designed invitations, large-scale commemorative posters, admit cards, and programs add dimension and life to this history. Sketches of elaborate stage sets and costumes as well as photographs of ball costumes and rare memorabilia further enhance descriptions of these tableau balls.
Call Number: GT4211 .N4 S65 2017 Book Shelves, Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781496814012Publication Date: 2017
Unveiling the Muse : the lost history of gay carnival in New Orleans by
Traditional Carnival has been well documented with a vast array of books published on the subject. However, few of them, if any, mention gay Carnival krewes or the role of gay Carnival within the larger context of the season. Howard Philips Smith corrects this oversight with a beautiful, vibrant, and exciting account of gay Carnival. Gay krewes were first formed in the late 1950s, growing out of costume parties held by members of the gay community. Their tableau balls were often held in clandestine locations to avoid harassment. Even by the new millennium, gay Carnival remained a hidden and almost lost history. Much of the history and the krewes themselves were devastated by the AIDS crisis. Whether facing police raids in the 1960s or AIDS in the 1980s, the Carnival krewes always came back each season. A culmination of two decades of research, Unveiling the Muse positions this incredible story within its proper place as an amazing and important facet of traditional Carnival. Based on years of detailed interviews, each of the major gay krewes is represented by an in-depth historical sketch, outlining the founders, moments of brilliance on stage, and a list of all the balls, themes, and royalty. Of critical importance to this history are the colorful ephemera associated with the gay tableau balls. Reproductions of never-before-published brilliantly designed invitations, large-scale commemorative posters, admit cards, and programs add dimension and life to this history. Sketches of elaborate stage sets and costumes as well as photographs of ball costumes and rare memorabilia further enhance descriptions of these tableau balls.
Call Number: online - UNO access onlyISBN: 9781496814036Publication Date: 2017
In Exile : the history and lore surrounding New Orleans gay culture and its oldest gay bar by Call Number: HQ76.2 .U52 N486 2012 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781905091997Publication Date: 2012
Southern Decadence in New Orleans by
Founded in the summer of 1972 by a few friends as a modest celebration, the Southern Decadence festival has since grown into one of New Orleans?s largest annual tourist events. The multiday extravaganza features street parties, drag contests, dancing, drinking, and bead tosses, culminating with a boisterous parade through the French Quarter. With over 200,000 participants?predominantly LGBT+?these unbridled, pre?Labor Day festivities now generate millions of dollars in revenue. Howard Philips Smith and Frank Perez?s Southern Decadence in New Orleans brings together an astounding array of materials to provide the first comprehensive, historical look at Southern Decadence. In an engaging account spanning five decades, the authors combine a trove of rare memorabilia from the event?s founders, early photographs and film stills, newspaper and magazine articles, interviews with longtime participants, a list of all the parades and grand marshals, as well as reproductions of early Southern Decadence invitations. Throughout, the authors explore the pivotal moments and public perceptions related to the festival?including the myths and conjecture that often inaccurately characterized it?and provide an in-depth narrative detailing how a small party in the Faubourg Tremé grew into a worldwide destination predominantly for gay men. Lauded by city leaders as the second-most profitable festival in New Orleans (outshone only by Mardi Gras), Southern Decadence emanates an air of frivolity that masks its enormous impact on the culture and economy of the Crescent City. But with such growth comes the challenge of maintaining the original spirit of camaraderie while managing expanding administrative and logistical responsibilities. Southern Decadence in New Orleans serves as a historical record that helps ensure the future of the celebration remains forever linked to the joyous impulse of its humble beginnings.
Call Number: HQ76.965 .G38 S65 2018 Book Shelves and Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780807169537Publication Date: 2018
Political Animal : the life and times of Stewart Butler by
During Mardi Gras 1973, Stewart Butler fell in love with Alfred Doolittle-a wealthy socialite and schizophrenic from San Francisco. Their relationship was an improbable love story that changed the course of LGBTQ+ history. With Doolittle's money, Butler was able to retire and devote his life to political activism in the cause of queer liberation. A survivor of the horrific UpStairs Lounge arson, Butler was a founding member of the first statewide lesbian and gay rights organization in Louisiana and an early champion for transgender rights, playing a key role in the eight-year struggle to persuade PFLAG to become the first national LGBTQ+ organization to include trans people in its mission statement. In Political Animal: The Life and Times of Stewart Butler, author Frank Perez traces Butler's amazing life from his early childhood in Depression-era New Orleans, his adolescence at Carville where his father worked, his first unsuccessful attempt at college, his time in the army as a closeted gay man, his adventures in Alaska, his transformation into a hippie in the 1960s, his love affair with Doolittle, his decades as a gay rights advocate, and ultimately, his twilight years as an elder statesman. Based on Butler's own personal papers, including hundreds of letters, and dozens of interviews, Political Animal paints an intimate portrait of a legendary figure in gay politics and the times in which he lived.
Call Number: HQ75.8 .B88 P47 2022 Book Shelves and Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781496841292Publication Date: 2022
Upstairs Lounge Fire
Tinderbox : the untold story of the Up Stairs Lounge fire and the rise of gay liberation by
Buried for decades, the Up Stairs Lounge tragedy has only recently emerged as a catalyzing event of the gay liberation movement. In revelatory detail, Robert W. Fieseler chronicles the tragic event that claimed the lives of thirty-one men and one woman on June 24, 1973, at a New Orleans bar, the largest mass murder of gays until 2016. Relying on unprecedented access to survivors and archives, Fieseler creates an indelible portrait of a closeted, blue- collar gay world that flourished before an arsonist ignited an inferno that destroyed an entire community. The aftermath was no less traumatic--families ashamed to claim loved ones, the Catholic Church refusing proper burial rights, the city impervious to the survivors' needs--revealing a world of toxic prejudice that thrived well past Stonewall. Yet the impassioned activism that followed proved essential to the emergence of a fledgling gay movement. Tinderbox restores honor to a forgotten generation of civil-rights martyrs.
Call Number: HV6250.4 .H66 F54 2018 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781631491641Publication Date: 2018
The Up Stairs Lounge Arson : thirty-two deaths in a New Orleans gay bar, June 24, 1973 by
On June 24, 1973, a fire in a New Orleans gay bar killed 32 people. This still stands as the deadliest fire in the city's history. Though arson was suspected, and though the police identified a likely culprit, no arrest was ever made. Additionally, government and religious leaders who normally would have provided moral leadership at a time of crisis were either silent or were openly disdainful of the dead, most of whom were gay men. Based upon review of hundreds of primary and secondary sources, including contemporary news accounts, interviews with former patrons of the lounge, and the extensive documentary trail left behind by the criminal investigations, The Up Stairs Lounge Arson tells the story of who used to go to this bar, what happened on the day of the fire, what course the investigations took, why an arrest was never made, and what the lasting effects of the fire have been.
Call Number: HV6638.5 .U6 D45 2014 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780786479535Publication Date: 2014
The View Upstairs by
When Wes a Millenial fashion designer purchases an abandoned building in the French Quarter of New Orleans he finds himself transported to the UpStairs Lounge a vibrant '70s gay bar. As this forgotten community comes to life Wes embarks on an exhilarating journey of self-exploration that spans two generations of queer history. This smash Off-Broadway hit features a gritty glam rock score and a tight-knit ensemble of unforgettable characters. The View UpStairs asks what has been gained and lost in the fight for equality and how the past can help guide us through an uncertain future. "Highly theatrical unexpected and marvelous...channels a vintage camp that is all too rare nowadays." THE NEW YORK TIMES "Vibrant! The View UpStairs is a moving homage to LGBT culture past and present. The show swells with heart." ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY "The View Upstairs is a hot ticket because it's funny touching musically remarkable and revelatory about a forgotten piece of history as well as our current times...revolutionary and daring" OUT MAGAZINE "A jambalaya of sexed-up tunes...The View UpStairs has all the ingredients of an iconic cult phenomenon." EDGE MEDIA
Call Number: ML50 .V496 V54 2017 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780573706653Publication Date: 2017
LGBTQ Fiction and Poetry Set in New Orleans
Alex in Wonderland by
Alex Sumner, 26, is the closeted gay son of an obscenely wealthy and powerful New Orleans oil tycoon. At the insistence of his father, Alex has become engaged to Camilla, the pushy and totally self-absorbed daughter of another oil man. This farce has been arranged by their fathers, who hope to unite their businesses.
Call Number: PS3612 .A353 A79 2006 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781560235323Publication Date: 2006
The Intersection of Law and Desire by
Hard-hitting prose with a lesbian twist and a social conscience, by a dynamic new writer. In the steamy, New Orleans underworld, tough, dyke dick Micky Knight agrees to take on the case of a friend's daughter who is believed to be sexually abused--and is confronted by memories of her own sexual abuse as a child.
Call Number: PS3568 .E35 I58 1995 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780393037937Publication Date: 1995
New Orleans Between Poetry and the Blues by
As a tourist, your New Orleans is a party town, a city of parades, music, festivals, Mardi Gras, jazz, free-flowing booze and food. But, there is more to her than this bon vivant façade. There is a deeper, haunting side of New Orleans, which the author unmasques and weaves into poetic tales of this once glorious city of faded hopes. Reduced to a court jester, New Orleans is now a mere shadow of her former grandeur. Like Brigadoon, on one fine day, she may return, but for now the glory that was once New Orleans ain't there no mo".
Call Number: PS3531 .A78 N48 2019 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781732356030Publication Date: 2019
Murder in the Garden District by
A leading candidate for the upcoming senatorial race and a scion of a Louisiana political dynasty is shot to death in his Garden District mansion, and the prime suspect is his much younger second wife with a checkered past. Detective Chanse MacLeod enters a world where nothing is as it seems, and uncovers the dark secrets of the state's first family-secrets someone is willing to kill to keep. Greg Herren is the author of four previous novels in the Chanse MacLeod series. He lives in New Orleans.
Call Number: PS3608 .E77 M84 2009 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781593501051Publication Date: 2009
Murder in the Rue Ursulines by
As New Orleans continues to rebuild in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, Chanse MacLeod becomes involved in a high profile case involving a golden couple of Hollywood who have committed themselves to helping New Orleans recover. Greg Herren is the author of the Chance MacLeod series, including 'Murder in the Rue Dauphine'.
Call Number: PS3608 .E77 M878 2008 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781593500955Publication Date: 2008
Murder in the Rue St. Ann by
Chanse MacLeod, the sexy gay private eye from Greg Herren's 'Murder in the rue Dauphine' has been hired to find out who is doggedly trying to sabotage the opening of a new French Quarter nightclub. However, nothing is ever as it appears in the streets of New Orleans and MacLeod may may learn that lesson at the cost of his life. Greg Herren, whose previous mysteries also include Bourbon Street Blues, takes us back to the sultry streets of New Orleans, a city where the elegant beauty of a genteel past has decayed to reveal an often gritty present.
Call Number: PS3608 .E77 M87 2004 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781555838171Publication Date: 2004
Murder in the Rue Dauphine by
For gay New Orleans private eye Chanse MacLeod, it seemed like a simple case: find out who was black- mailing his pretty-boy client's rich, closeted boyfriend, collect a nice cheque and take some time off. But then the pretty boy turns up dead in what looks like a hate crime and the whole gay community of New Orleans is up in arms, demanding justice. In the stifling heat of a New Orleans summer, Chanse begins searching for an extremely clever killer on a trail that takes him from the very bottom of society to the top, knowing he must find the killer before the entire city explodes.
Call Number: PS3608 .E64 M87 2002 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781555835859Publication Date: 2002
The Heavens Rise by
New York Times bestselling author Christopher Rice brilliantly conjures the shadowed terrors of the Louisiana bayou--where three friends confront a deadly, ancient evil rising to the surface--in this intense and atmospheric new supernatural thriller. It's been a decade since the Delongpre family vanished near Bayou Rabineaux, and still no one can explain the events of that dark and sweltering night. No one except Niquette Delongpre, the survivor who ran away from the mangled stretch of guardrail on Highway 22 where the impossible occurred...and kept on running. Who left behind her best friends, Ben and Anthem, to save them from her newfound capacity for destruction...and who alone knows the source of her very bizarre--and very deadly--abilities: an isolated strip of swampland called Elysium. An accomplished surgeon, Niquette's father dreamed of transforming the dense acreage surrounded by murky waters into a palatial compound befitting the name his beloved wife gave to it, Elysium: "the final resting place for the heroic and virtuous." Then, ten years ago, construction workers dug into a long-hidden well, one that snaked down into the deep, black waters of the Louisiana swamp and stirred something that had been there for centuries--a microscopic parasite that perverts the mind and corrupts the body. Niquette is living proof that things done can't be undone. Nothing will put her family back together again. And nothing can save her. But as Niquette, Ben, and Anthem uncover the truth of a devastating parasite that has the potential to alter the future of humankind, Niquette grasps the most chilling truths of all: someone else has been infected too. And unlike her, this man is not content to live in the shadows. He is intent to use his newfound powers for one reason only: revenge.
Call Number: PS3568 .I2717 H43 2013 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781476716084Publication Date: 2013
A Density of Souls by
Dark, compelling, and touching a deep contemporary nerve, A Density of Souls is a richly plotted novel about four high school friends in present day New Orleans tom apart by envy, passion, and a secret murder.Meredith, Brandon, Greg, and Stephen are New Orleans friends whose allegiances diverge sharply upon entrance into high school. Brandon and Greg gain popularity as football jocks and Meredith joins the bulimic in-crowd, while Stephen becomes the outcast of the once close group, and is targeted as gay by a school that viciously mocks him. Then two violent deaths disrupt their lives -- an accident and suicide.Five years later the friends are drawn back together by a sinister and violent turn of events. And it turns out that the suicide is actually a murder. As the true story emerges other secrets begin to unravel and the cruelties of high school life take on a new significance.A Density of Souls is a remarkable first novel. Powerful, with an utterly compelling narrative, it looks hard into the darker side of high school life and the tortured psyche of young teenagers. A stunning debut.
Call Number: PS3568.I2717 D46 2000 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780786866465Publication Date: 2000
Memoirs of LGBTQ Louisianians
Stone Motel : Memoirs of a Cajun Boy by
Stone Motel: Memoirs of a Cajun Boy is the story of a gay preteen, his seven siblings, their violent father, overwhelmed mother, unstoppable grandmother, and the sordid array of customers they encounter at their family's roadside motel, situated in the hot, prairie town of Eunice, Louisiana. When half of the motel burns in a Christmastime fire, the family scrambles to get back on their feet and get things moving again. The fire rekindles the father's long-repressed violent nature, and while he attacks several of his children, he reserves his most ferocious beatings for his second son whom he feels needs "fixing." When they were not working at the Stone Motel, Morris Ardoin and his siblings played canasta, an "old ladies" card game, which provided a refuge from the blistering summer sun and helped them avoid their mercurial father, a man unable to shake the horrors he had experienced as a child and, later, as a soldier. In this memoir, Ardoin provides an episodic narrative, detailing the sweet, sometimes awkward, oft en funny memories of his family, but moves beyond the personal to also document Louisiana life in the 1960s and 1970s. Th rough his descriptions of the regional French dialect spoken by his elders, to nostalgic images of places lost to time and progress, a unique portrait of a small community in Cajun Louisiana unfolds.
Call Number: CT237 .A73 2020 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781496827722Publication Date: 2020
Big Freedia by
From the eponymous star of the most popular reality show in Fuse TV's history, this no-holds-barred memoir tells the story of a gay, self-proclaimed mama's boy who exploded onto the formerly underground Bounce music scene--a hip-hop subgenre--and found acceptance, healing, self-expression, and stardom! As the "undisputed ambassador" of the energetic, New Orleans-based Bounce movement, Big Freedia isn't afraid to twerk, wiggle, and shake her way to self-confidence, and is encouraging her fans to do the same. In her engrossing memoir, Big Freedia tells the inside story of her path to fame, the peaks and valleys of her personal life, and the liberation that Bounce music brings to herself and every one of her fans who is searching for freedom. Big Freedia immediately pulls us into the relationship between her personal life and her career as an artist; being a "twerking sissy" is not just a job, she says, but a salvation. A place to find solace. To escape from the battles she faced growing up in the worst neighborhood in New Orleans. To deal with losing loved ones to the violence on the streets, drug overdoses, and jail. To survive hurricane Katrina by living on her roof for two days with three adults and a child. To grapple with the difficulties and celebrate the joys of living. In this eye-opening memoir that bursts with energy, you'll learn the history of the Bounce movement and meet all of the colorful characters that pepper its music scene. With her own unique voice and unabashed enthusiasm, Big Freedia tells how she arrived at this defining moment in music, and how Bounce ultimately has allowed her to become her own version of diva, one booty-pop at a time.
Call Number: ML420 .B547 A3 2015 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9781501101243Publication Date: 2015
My Point... and I Do Have One by
"My motto has always been "If you're going to read, it might as well be a book... or a magazine... or even a newspaper, I guess." So, as you might imagine, I was awfully excited when I was asked to write a book myself. But after the celebration was over and all the champagne was gone, I realized I had to sit down and actually write it. I was sober when I wrote the book - kind of." "Okay I wasn't drunk or stoned. I was, however, nervous. But when I began writing, I realized that although I don't know a lot about any one thing, I know a little about a whole bunch of things: baking a pie; dancing; curing the common cold; running the Iditarod; explaining sex to children - it's all in the book. And I realized I notice things that maybe some people don't notice (or they don't notice that they notice): how we behave in elevators or airplanes or restrooms; why we're scared of the boogeyman (and believe me, we're scared of the boogeyman); how people sing songs the loudest when they don't know the lyrics." "But mostly my book is about how hard it is for someone who basically just wants to be liked to get things right and be understood. Does that make sense? I hope so. It's about how we strive and fail in so many of the small things in life but ultimately succeed in the larger things."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: PN6162 .D3935 1995 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780553099553Publication Date: 1995
LGBTQ Academia
Supporting Transgender Students : understanding gender identity and reshaping school culture by
Supporting Transgender Students is a guide to help schools learn the basics of what gender is and why it matters in education. Drawing on the author''s 25 years of experience working with schools and transgender students, this book considers how transgender and gender non-conforming youth experience the classroom, the playing field, and other school contexts. Supporting Transgender Students provides a clear roadmap and practical examples for how to take action in your school to effect change and create a gender inclusive community. Foreword We school people remember well the first time a student or a parent or guardian requested support for their or their child''s gender identity. Few things better reveal the character of a community than how it responds when a transgender or gender non-conforming child and their family asks this of us. When Alex Myers came out to his high school dean twenty-five years ago, teachers and administrators were on their own; there was little literature, no frameworks, just caring adults stumbling through and leaning on their foundational commitment to keep students safe. I remember the first time I addressed a faculty about pronouns and shared the GLSEN Safe Space Kit. This was nearly ten years ago, when we had to remind faculty, staff, and students not to assume that everyone in the classroom was heterosexual and not to assume one could know someone''s sexual orientation or gender identity by looking at them. It''s 2021 now, and although many of our schools have removed gendered pronouns from handbooks, created all-gender bathrooms, and modified administrative tasks to make name and pronoun changes more seamless, some schools still need a lot of help just getting to the other side of boy or girl. This book is the help we need. It provides a guide for how we can help raise other people''s children and keep them safe, specifically when we''re working to support transgender and gender non-conforming students in our schools. It is about how to get from here to there, covering practicalities and their implementation; it shows us how to address systemic issues and modify the way our organizations communicate about gender altogether. Most importantly, this book is written by Alex Myers, and he has a story to tell. A graduate of Phillips Exeter and Harvard, he was the first openly transgender student at both institutions. He now runs workshops and speaks at schools across the country on the topic of gender identity and supporting transgender students. It has been my pleasure to know Alex for many years both as a colleague and as a consultant in our efforts to design policies and facilities that are more gender inclusive. Two of my own school communities are better for his work. Our communities can get polarized quickly, even in their supportive responses and solutions. But gender is fluid and exists on a continuum for many of our students, and some of their gender identities will evolve throughout their years with us. Myers offers a way forward from wherever your school community is on this journey. If you don''t know where to begin, Myers reminds us that all students benefit when a school initiates a gender audit guided by his good questions: Where do we make mention of gender in our school? Why do we want to highlight gender here? What is our purpose in seeking to know or control gender in this context? Although bathrooms and sports teams most often require interventions when we first begin to ask questions about gender in our schools, Myers calls our attention to a broader set of concerns. If you aren''t yet sure why the proliferation of inclusive terminology and language is important, Myers will remind you: it can save lives. Some of our schools have been engaged in this work of inclusion and belonging for years, and 2020 has coaxed others into recognizing the experiences of transgender people for the first time, most prominently through the election of a president who spoke for transgender rights during his campaign as well as at least eight transgender, nonbinary, and gender-nonconforming state candidates, including the nation''s first openly transgender state senator. However familiar you are with these issues, you wouldn''t have opened this book if you didn''t suspect your school needed its guidance, if you didn''t believe there were transgender or nonbinary students in your community, or young people who have considered transitioning. Even if no student has asked yet to change their name or pronoun, you know there are those who need you to facilitate these possibilities in advance of their having to ask. If you are just beginning this journey with your school or with a student, Supporting Transgender Students will reassure you that you can do the right thing. If your experience is like my own, you will worry that you won''t think of everything, that you won''t be able to quickly enough build the protection and affirmation necessary?and then you will discover Alex Myers and be relieved. Here is a fellow teacher, advisor, coach, and dorm head; he is a school keeper, a wise and generous guide who happens to also be a talented storyteller. If you have the resources to host Alex Myers at your school, do it (you will enjoy the power of witnessing Alex tell his story to middle school students). If time and space and travel prohibit that actual visit, this book is the best equivalent. Distribute copies to your faculty. Plan some PD. Create a working group. Take a walk around the school with a questioning eleven-year-old in mind and keep them at the center of what you do. In these pages, Alex Myers will help you to anticipate your students'' needs and be better prepared with processes and answers in advance of students and their families needing them. But this book is about more than legal advisories and bathroom challenges. It''s about nurturing and supporting all of our students, including those who live outside of our gender boxes and those who reject their assigned gender scripts. Our cisgender students are better served by the guidance in these pages too. You will be better able to say to all of your students: you can be who you are, you can do what you love, and we will be here to support you. We are, like Myers, school keepers charged with creating safe and supportive educational environments for all of our students?and charged with supporting and preparing the adults in our communities who care for people''s children. As Myers writes, "Schools have a responsibility to protect the children within their care." Sensitive and astute, Myers is the fundamentally accessible guide our generation of school keepers needs now. This book moves us from the rhetoric of improving our communities for all students to case-by-case adjustments and advocacy, from the fulfillment of individual student requests to the complete adoption of cultural habits and practices that will accomplish our stated commitments to equity and inclusion. I have presented to hundreds of educators and dozens of schools on the dilemmas of creating safe and supportive school cultures that facilitate a child''s healthy development. I well understand the complexities schools face today and we are better when we draw on the work of school leaders like Alex Myers. He is one of our best teachers, and he understands what gets in the way of change. Supporting Transgender Students sets a new standard for rethinking our gendered spaces and how they affect all of our students. No school keeper, head of school, teacher, dean of students, division head, department chair, admission officer, college counselor, athletic director, librarian, chaplain, or coach should make any more changes to their school without reading this book. Wherever you are in our collective effort to improve schools, the model Alex Myers offers here will help. Thank you for all that you are doing on behalf of our students and school communities. Keep it up. We''ll get there together. Enjoy reading. E. Quincy McLaughlin February 2021
Call Number: LC2575 .M84 2021 Book ShelvesISBN: 9781608012008Publication Date: 2021- Supporting Transgender Students : understanding gender identity and reshaping school culture by
Supporting Transgender Students is a guide to help schools learn the basics of what gender is and why it matters in education. Drawing on the author''s 25 years of experience working with schools and transgender students, this book considers how transgender and gender non-conforming youth experience the classroom, the playing field, and other school contexts. Supporting Transgender Students provides a clear roadmap and practical examples for how to take action in your school to effect change and create a gender inclusive community. Foreword We school people remember well the first time a student or a parent or guardian requested support for their or their child''s gender identity. Few things better reveal the character of a community than how it responds when a transgender or gender non-conforming child and their family asks this of us. When Alex Myers came out to his high school dean twenty-five years ago, teachers and administrators were on their own; there was little literature, no frameworks, just caring adults stumbling through and leaning on their foundational commitment to keep students safe. I remember the first time I addressed a faculty about pronouns and shared the GLSEN Safe Space Kit. This was nearly ten years ago, when we had to remind faculty, staff, and students not to assume that everyone in the classroom was heterosexual and not to assume one could know someone''s sexual orientation or gender identity by looking at them. It''s 2021 now, and although many of our schools have removed gendered pronouns from handbooks, created all-gender bathrooms, and modified administrative tasks to make name and pronoun changes more seamless, some schools still need a lot of help just getting to the other side of boy or girl. This book is the help we need. It provides a guide for how we can help raise other people''s children and keep them safe, specifically when we''re working to support transgender and gender non-conforming students in our schools. It is about how to get from here to there, covering practicalities and their implementation; it shows us how to address systemic issues and modify the way our organizations communicate about gender altogether. Most importantly, this book is written by Alex Myers, and he has a story to tell. A graduate of Phillips Exeter and Harvard, he was the first openly transgender student at both institutions. He now runs workshops and speaks at schools across the country on the topic of gender identity and supporting transgender students. It has been my pleasure to know Alex for many years both as a colleague and as a consultant in our efforts to design policies and facilities that are more gender inclusive. Two of my own school communities are better for his work. Our communities can get polarized quickly, even in their supportive responses and solutions. But gender is fluid and exists on a continuum for many of our students, and some of their gender identities will evolve throughout their years with us. Myers offers a way forward from wherever your school community is on this journey. If you don''t know where to begin, Myers reminds us that all students benefit when a school initiates a gender audit guided by his good questions: Where do we make mention of gender in our school? Why do we want to highlight gender here? What is our purpose in seeking to know or control gender in this context? Although bathrooms and sports teams most often require interventions when we first begin to ask questions about gender in our schools, Myers calls our attention to a broader set of concerns. If you aren''t yet sure why the proliferation of inclusive terminology and language is important, Myers will remind you: it can save lives. Some of our schools have been engaged in this work of inclusion and belonging for years, and 2020 has coaxed others into recognizing the experiences of transgender people for the first time, most prominently through the election of a president who spoke for transgender rights during his campaign as well as at least eight transgender, nonbinary, and gender-nonconforming state candidates, including the nation''s first openly transgender state senator. However familiar you are with these issues, you wouldn''t have opened this book if you didn''t suspect your school needed its guidance, if you didn''t believe there were transgender or nonbinary students in your community, or young people who have considered transitioning. Even if no student has asked yet to change their name or pronoun, you know there are those who need you to facilitate these possibilities in advance of their having to ask. If you are just beginning this journey with your school or with a student, Supporting Transgender Students will reassure you that you can do the right thing. If your experience is like my own, you will worry that you won''t think of everything, that you won''t be able to quickly enough build the protection and affirmation necessary?and then you will discover Alex Myers and be relieved. Here is a fellow teacher, advisor, coach, and dorm head; he is a school keeper, a wise and generous guide who happens to also be a talented storyteller. If you have the resources to host Alex Myers at your school, do it (you will enjoy the power of witnessing Alex tell his story to middle school students). If time and space and travel prohibit that actual visit, this book is the best equivalent. Distribute copies to your faculty. Plan some PD. Create a working group. Take a walk around the school with a questioning eleven-year-old in mind and keep them at the center of what you do. In these pages, Alex Myers will help you to anticipate your students'' needs and be better prepared with processes and answers in advance of students and their families needing them. But this book is about more than legal advisories and bathroom challenges. It''s about nurturing and supporting all of our students, including those who live outside of our gender boxes and those who reject their assigned gender scripts. Our cisgender students are better served by the guidance in these pages too. You will be better able to say to all of your students: you can be who you are, you can do what you love, and we will be here to support you. We are, like Myers, school keepers charged with creating safe and supportive educational environments for all of our students?and charged with supporting and preparing the adults in our communities who care for people''s children. As Myers writes, "Schools have a responsibility to protect the children within their care." Sensitive and astute, Myers is the fundamentally accessible guide our generation of school keepers needs now. This book moves us from the rhetoric of improving our communities for all students to case-by-case adjustments and advocacy, from the fulfillment of individual student requests to the complete adoption of cultural habits and practices that will accomplish our stated commitments to equity and inclusion. I have presented to hundreds of educators and dozens of schools on the dilemmas of creating safe and supportive school cultures that facilitate a child''s healthy development. I well understand the complexities schools face today and we are better when we draw on the work of school leaders like Alex Myers. He is one of our best teachers, and he understands what gets in the way of change. Supporting Transgender Students sets a new standard for rethinking our gendered spaces and how they affect all of our students. No school keeper, head of school, teacher, dean of students, division head, department chair, admission officer, college counselor, athletic director, librarian, chaplain, or coach should make any more changes to their school without reading this book. Wherever you are in our collective effort to improve schools, the model Alex Myers offers here will help. Thank you for all that you are doing on behalf of our students and school communities. Keep it up. We''ll get there together. Enjoy reading. E. Quincy McLaughlin February 2021
Call Number: online - UNO access onlyISBN: 9781608012008Publication Date: 2021
Vintage drag : female impersonators performing resistance in Cold War New Orleans by Call Number: PN2071 .I47 B37 2004A Louisiana CollectionPublication Date: 2004
Cookbooks
Gay Gourmet : the queer cuisine of New Orleans by
Come share in the true spirit of Mardi Gras with an unusual cookbook that truly lets it ALL hang out!
Call Number: TX715.2 .L68 B55 2003 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780595268443Publication Date: 2003
The Drag Queen's Cookbook and Guide to Sensible Living by
DRAG is currently one of the hottest cultural (& fashionable) statements. Certain Drag Queens have become household names, & movies portraying the Drag lifestyle have become theatre blockbusters. From the movie screen to the television screen, America is being introduced to every aspect of "Dragdom." Could their be a better way to expose the general public to this magical & marvelous phenomenon than a book detailing the lifestyles, exploits & adventures of Drag Queens, Transvestites, & Female Impersonators? Winter Books is thrilled to announce publication of THE DRAG QUEEN'S COOKBOOK & GUIDE TO SENSIBLE LIVING by that ever-ready hostess herself, Honey van Campe. This timely book is an absolute must on every coffee table & in every kitchen, & is jam-packed with lively color illustrations. Honey's hilarious & anecdotal GUIDE TO SENSIBLE LIVING provides "how-to" for the always dynamic Drag personality, which adds to the tricks & tips used by every RG (real gal). The DRAG QUEEN'S COOKBOOK portion contains savory & scrumptious recipes provided by a variety of "Dragsters," & in conjunction, with the GUIDE, is guaranteed to make very gal a world-renowned hostess. Title is available through the publisher & several distributors: Bookazine, Bookpeople, Forest Sales, & Koen.
Call Number: TX715 .V36 1996 Louisiana CollectionISBN: 9780965314572Publication Date: 1996- Red Beans and Rice : recipes for lesbian health & wisdom by Call Number: HQ75.6 .U5 N66 1986ISBN: 9780895941947Publication Date: 1986
