American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Applied Science & Technology
These fifty thematic collections from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th
- Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877The collection Alternative Medicine and Health, 1810-1877 presents periodicals dedicated to the concept of healthy living and alternative medicines. Herbal guides such as the Eclectic and Medical Botanist and patent medicine circulars such as Fancher's Voice of General Intelligence are included here. Changing views on health, hygiene, and fitness are found in publications such as Lewis' New Gymnastics for Ladies, Gentlemen, and Children and the Boston Journal of Physical Culture, The Journal of Health, and the Domestic Medical and Dietetical Monitor or Journal of Health. The variety of alternative health options are extensive, exploring such movements as electrology, homeopathy, hydrotherapy, magnetism, phrenology, and Thomsonian medicine; they were represented in journals such as the Water Cure Journal and Teacher of Health, the Homoeopathic Journal of Materia Medica, Chemistry, and Pharmacology, and Fowler's Journal of Life Health Man and Phrenology.
- American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877The American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877 collection contains publications focused on professional medical thought, including dental practice, during the nineteenth century. Including detailed illustrations and diagrams using what were at the time state-of-the-art printing techniques, these journals chronicle the development of medical and surgical techniques over time. Surgery titles were published across the country, and include the Civil War-era Confederate States Medical & Surgical Journal and the Pacific Medical and Surgical Journal. General practice is covered in such journals as the Richmond and Louisville Medical Journal and Bulletin of Medical Science. Periodicals devoted to medical specialties and specific diseases include the American Journal of Obstetrics and Diseases of Women and Children, the Journal of Psychological Medicine, and the Cholera Gazette. Medical societies are represented by titles such as the New Jersey Medical Reporter and Transactions of the New Jersey Medical Society. Twenty-three titles here are devoted to dentistry exclusively, including the New York Dental Recorder.
- Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901The Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901 collection contains publications related chiefly to the hard sciences: mathematics, astronomy, chemistry, physics, geology (including mining), and the like. It also contains a few social sciences titles and literary magazines with science content. Titles include: the Anthropological Journal, Astronomical Notices, the American Chemist, the American Journal of Microscopy and Popular Science, the Canadian Naturalist and Geologist, and Popular Science Monthly.
Want to combine databases?
Want to combine databases? Use the complete list of EBSCO databases to search more than one database at a time. Check the box next to all of the database titles you want to search, and then click continue. You can also select additional databases from within an EBSCO database, by clicking on the "Choose databases" link just above the search box.