CHEM 2025--Zito: Articles/Databases
Introductory services and sources for Ms. Zito's Chemistry 2025 class
Tips on How to Use SciFinder
Access the SciFinder-n quick start guide for a step-by-step journey
or
Check out how-to videos for how to search for substances, reactions, patents, and more
Understanding Web of Science
Primary Databases
Great places to start your chemistry research. These databases have citations to thousands of articles, and sometimes have links to the full-text of the articles.
- CAS Scifinder-n This link opens in a new windowProvides the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information. You must register to use this database on campus. Use your UNO email address when you register. https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=A171C2DC-86F3-5055-2518-D44023C013B8
- CAS SciFinder-n - Registration Link This link opens in a new windowUse this link to register for access to SciFinder Scholar.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- ChemRxiv This link opens in a new windowChemRxiv is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication. ChemRxiv conducts a basic screen for plagiarism, offensive language, and non-scientific content, and will exclude materials that may pose a health or security risk if identified. Beyond this, the files are unedited, and are not peer-reviewed.
- Nexis Uni - NPNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents.
Other Databases
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowContains information about the structures and biological activities of small molecules. Search for molecules using names, synonyms, keywords, or chemical structure drawings.
Need help using PubChem? Access its tutorial at: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubchem/tutorial/>https://www.nlm.nih.gov/oet/ed/pubchem/tutorial/
- TOXNETToxicology and environmental information from the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Includes TOXLINE (Toxicology Literature Online), HSDB (Hazardous Substance Data Bank), CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System), GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology), DART (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology), TRI (Toxic Release Inventory), and ChemIDplus, a free database of over 370,000 chemical compounds.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.