CHEM 2025--Zito: Reference Items
Online Reference Sources
- American Chemical Society Quick Citation GuideThe ACS quick guide offers a fast easily searchable resource for learning how to cite items in chemistry's standard style.
- Chemistry: Atoms First (2nd ed.)Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association.
- Compendium of Chemical Technology (Gold Book)Terminology definitions published by IUPAC are drafted by international committees of experts in the appropriate chemistry sub-disciplines, and ratified by IUPAC's Interdivisional Committee on Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols (ICTNS). In this edition of the Compendium these IUPAC-approved definitions are supplemented with some definitions from ISO and from the International Vocabulary of Basic and General Terms in Metrology; both these sources are recognised by IUPAC as authoritative. The result is a collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
- PubChemPubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
Where does the data in PubChem come from? PubChem records are contributed by hundreds of data sources. Examples include: government agencies, chemical vendors, journal publishers, and more. - Common ChemistryOpen access reference database of substances including CAS registry numbers and common properties
- LexisNexis Academic: News - NPAlthough primarily a source for more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, this database is also home to Total Patent One-- a database of US and international patents.
Print Reference Books
For some research, books are still the way to go. For example, handbooks for reliable physical data. Here's a short selection of some of the best known and most important listed below. Check the online catalog for more suggestions.
|
Title |
Call Number |
|
|
ACS Style Guide |
QD 8.5 .A25 |
The official reference to the American Chemical Society style of preparing manuscripts and citing information. |
|
Basic Laboratory and Industrial Chemicals |
QD 64 .L53 1993 |
A CRC Quick Reference Handbook to over 1,000 common chemicals, including data on properties such as physical constants, thermodynamic properties, molecular properties and transport properties. |
|
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics |
QD 65 .H3 |
The classic science reference, claiming to "provide broad coverage of all types of data commonly encountered by physical scientists and engineers, with as much depth as can be accommodated in a one-volume format" (preface to the 85th edition). |
|
Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra and NMR Spectra |
QD 96 .I5 P67 1981 |
Infrared and NMR spectra for substances ranging from Abietic acid to Zingerone. |
|
Names, Synonyms and Structures of Organic Compounds |
QD 291 .N36 1995 |
A CRC Reference Handbook that provides names, synonyms and structures for thousands of organic compounds including pesticides, alternative refrigerants, priority pollutants and more. |
|
Table of Isotopes |
QD 601.2 .F57 1996 |
Contains nuclear structure and decay data for thousands of isotopes and isomers, organized by mass number. |