Mathematics: Books

Don't struggle with questions. If your library liaison isn't immediately available, no worries. :)

Ask at our Services Desk on the 1st floor, or give us a call at (504) 280-6355

Alternatively, you can email us at  libref@uno.edu!

Research consultations are available to every student by appointment.

Who wouldn't want a 60-90 minute appointment focused on your project? Email me using the link in my profile box --> to request a consult. Before your appointment,  I will ask for  a description of your project, due date, and what you hope to gain from the session. I  will then tailor the session to your immediate research needs and offer follow-up help or appointments, as needed.  

Research problems fixed by appointment. :) 

To find books and e-books on Mathematics you can search the Library Catalog by keyword, author, title, or subject. If you don't find what you're looking for the first time, don't give up! Search again using alternate words, different spellings, or a shortened version of your search term. Ask at the Services desk on the 1st floor or call us at 504-280-6355. 

Alternately, you can browse for what you need on the bookshelves on the 3nd floor of the library, looking for books whose call numbers begin with QA. 

• Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Maths
• CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics   QA5 .W45 2003, 3rd floor
• Universal Book of Mathematics: from Abracadabra to Zeno's Paradoxes 
• Mathematics handbook for science and engineering, 4th edition  QA41 .R34 1999, 3rd floor
• Handbook of Mathematics, 5th edition
• Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic
• Mathematical Handbook of Formulas and Tables

If you're attempting to access an e-book in one of UNO's databases from off-campus, when you click on a database name, you'll be taken to a screen that looks like this. Follow the directions to log-in. If you don't know your PIN or have never set up a PIN, click "Email My PIN" and a PIN will be emailed your UNO email account.

If you can't find the book you're looking for, try our Interlibrary Loan service! Request the book through our iLLiad system and we'll get the book from another library for you for free.