Philosophy Research Guide: Find Background Information

Philosophy:  A Guide to the Reference Literature  (print copy also available at B48.Z99 B97 1997)

• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - (open access electronic resource)

• Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - (Credo Reference e-book)

• Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vols) - Available in Reference Collection (Room 304 at B51 .R68 1998)

• Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (electronic book, also available in Reference Collection -- Room 304 at B51.C58 2000

• The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy (2000) (electronic book)

• Oxford Companion to Philosophy (2005) (electronic book)

• New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (2005) (electronic book)

• Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy (2^nd ed, rev, 2008) - Book Shelves - B41 .B53 2008

Routledge History of Philosophy (Available in Reference Collection (Room 304 at B51 .R68 1998))

Vol. 1 From the Beginning to Plato, C.C.W. Taylor, ed.
Vol. 2 From Aristotle to Augustine, David J. Furley, ed.
Vol. 3. Medieval Philosophy, John Marenbon, ed.
Vol. 4 The Renaissance and Seventeenth Century Rationalism, G.H.R. Parkinson, ed.
Vol. 5 British Philosophy and the Age of Enlightenment, Stuart C. Brown, ed.
Vol. 6 The Age of German Idealism, Robert C. Solomon & Kathleen Higgins, eds.(alternate electronic version) 
Vol. 7 The Nineteenth Century, C.L. Ten, ed.
Vol. 8 Twentieth Century Continental Philosophy, Richard Kearney, ed.
Vol. 9 Philosophy of Science, Logic, and Mathematics in the Twentieth Century, Stuart Shanker, ed.
Vol. 10 Philosophy of Meaning, Knowledge, and Value in the Twentieth Century, John V. Canfield, ed