Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film Research Guide: Find Books or Screenplays

Other Sources for Books and Screenplays

o   WorldCat   -- This database combines contents of thousands of library catalogs, allowing you to search millions of records of books and other material. 

o   Google BooksSearch the full-text of over 10 million books.  Content availability varies.

Find Books

  • Use the UNO Library's online catalog to locate books, screenplays, or scripts in the library.  Putting a screenwriter's name in the author field (last name, first name) will retrieve scripts and screenplays by that person.  You can also search by title or keyword to search all of the information in the catalog records, for any reference to person or topic.  Use the keyword "screenplay" (or the more traditional "motion picture plays") to retrieve a large number of screenplays, or combine the keywords [screenplay or script] with a writer's name or title keyword.  Be sure to jot down the call number for the book (e.g. PN 1997.2 .I65 2009).  This tells you exactly where the book is located in the Library.  Most of the library's screenplays are located in the first floor stacks at PN 1997.2, basically in alphabetical order by title.
  •  American Film Scripts Online
    This database includes several hundred scripts along with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. Titles in this database are included in and linked from the library's online catalog. 
  • Electronic books are also included in the catalog.  You can limit your search to e-books by selecting “Electronic Book” from the “Material Type” pull-down menu.  To see an e-book from the catalog, just click on the URL in the record to access an electronic version of a book (login required for off-campus access). 
  •  Electronic books can also be searched by going to these individual e-book collections and searching the full-text content:

Subject Liaison

Profile Photo
Lindsey Reno
Contact:
Earl K. Long Library

Room 411-A

504-280-6499