Theatre Research Guide: Find Articles & Reviews
Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Complete -- This database indexes and provides some full-text articles for a variety of popular and scholarly journals and magazines.
MLA Bibliography -- Coverage: indexes about 3000 journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies pertaining to criticism, drama, folklore, and modern (not ancient) languages and literature. Add the search phrase "theatrical production" to limit to articles that focus on performances of plays. Years covered: 1963 - present.
Google Scholar - Google search engine focusing on scholarly publications
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).
Reviews in Newspapers and Magazines
Use these library indexes to look up movie reviews published in the popular media (in some cases the review will be available directly from the database) Typing in key words from the title and using the limiting options in the database to limit your search to reviews will retrieve relevant results.
Academic Search Complete -- The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Complete provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
LexisNexis Academic: News
Coverage: Full-text book, movie, play and music reviews from a range of magazine and newspapers sources (including the New York Times.) Chronological coverage for specific publications varies, but is generally limited to the last 5-10 years. Select "Theater Reviews" from the "Advanced Search" screen.
New York Times Historical Archive
This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Excludes the latest three years of publication.
America's News (Newsbank)
Search state, regional and national full-text articles including printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Coverage is generally last 10-20 years. (Louisiana newspapers including The Times-Picayune, and The Advocate)
