Psychology: Articles/Databases
Welcome!
Successful researchers start their research process early; they develop a plan to tackle their subject or project. The library is here for you. We are open these hours. Librarians are available by phone, by chat, and by consultation to answer questions, help connect you to resources, and encourage you in your research. Come in and check us out!
Have Questions? Please Ask!
Don't struggle with questions. If your library liaison isn't immediately available, no worries. :)
Ask at our Services Desk on the 1st floor, or give us a call at (504) 280-6355
Alternatively, you can email us at libref@uno.edu!
Research Consultations
Research consultations are available to every student by appointment.
Who wouldn't want a 60-90 minute appointment focused on your project? Email me using the link in my profile box --> to request a consult. Before your appointment, I will ask for a description of your project, due date, and what you hope to gain from the session. I will then tailor the session to your immediate research needs and offer follow-up help or appointments, as needed.
Research problems fixed by appointment. :)
Psychology-Specific Databases
- PsycINFOPsycINFO is the place to start for articles in any area of Psychology. You can search over a million citations, dating back to the 1800s. PsycINFO connects seamlessly to the database PsycARTICLES (full-text articles from APA and other journals) and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (full-text articles from 575 different journals). These databases can also be searched individually, but for the most complete set of results search all of PsycINFO.
- Mental Measurements YearbookMental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.
Related Databases
- Alexander Street Press - Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume 1Alexander Street Counseling provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives in these collections allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, contains citations to articles and government documents in the field of education; if your topic has an educational aspect ERIC is a great place to search
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowIf your topic has a medical or biological slant, try searching for articles here. MEDLINE can also be searched as PubMed at the NCBI website, but using the interface available from this page will give you more links to full-text journals in your results
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowThis combined catalog of library holdings includes books, web resources, and other material. A search for a title will show which participating libraries own it.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a free resource that contains citations to journal articles mostly in science, technology and medicine. If you use this link to Google Scholar, or set your Google Scholar preferences to include UNO, it will provide links to full-text articles courtesy of the UNO Library.
