Psychology: Books

For some research, books are still the way to go. For example, encyclopedias and handbooks are good for brief, reliable information about psychological theories or instruments. A few such books are listed below. Contact a librarian or check the UNO Library's online catalog for additional titles

21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook (AVAILABLE ONLINE)

A Biographical dictionary of psychologists, psychiatrists and psychotherapists
BF109 .A1 S76 2008 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5
RC455.2 .C4 D54 2013 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures
BF431 .G624 (2nd floor PERIODICAL SHELVES)
This nine-volume series identifies and describes noncommercial psychological measures from the fields of psychology, sociology, and education that have been devised by researchers and published in 36 top journals. Volume 9 lists tests published in the 2001–2005 issues of those journals. This directory fills an ongoing need for comprehensive information about noncommercial tests, enabling researchers to determine what types of noncommercial experimental test instruments are currently in use. The instruments are not evaluated, but the information given about each test should make it possible for researchers to make a preliminary judgment of its usefulness.

Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology (AVAILABLE ONLINE)

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology (AVAILABLE ONLINE)

Handbook of the clinical psychology of ageing
RC451.4 .A5 H426 2008 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
H41 .I58 2001 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)

The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology (AVAILABLE ONLINE)

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
BF76.7 .P83 2010 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)

The Wiley-Blackwell handbook of childhood social development
BF713 .B565 2011 (3rd floor BOOK SHELVES)

 National Library of Medicine Bookshelf (freely available online)