History of American Sports: Find Journal Articles
Research guide for History 2520, History of American Sports
Electronic Journal Collections
JSTOR - This electronic archive of core academic journals contains about 240 history journals. Coverage for most titles is for older volumes only (missing latest 3-7 years).
Project Muse - This collection of electronic journals includes current issues and some back volumes (archival coverage varies by title) for about 50 history journals.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Bayou State Periodical IndexIndexes articles in over 80 periodicals relating to Louisiana (1985-present)
- JSTORJSTOR is an electronic archive of selected journals and books in various disciplines. It includes more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Most journals included in JSTOR have the earliest volumes but generally do not include the most recent years of a journal.
- SocINDEX with Full TextUseful for articles about race, class, gender and sexuality in sports. Abstracts and full text of the literature of sociology and the related social sciences from 2300 journals worldwide. Abstracts and full text of the literature of sociology and the related social sciences from 2300 journals worldwide.
- World History CollectionWorld History Collection offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.
- History Reference CenterThis database features full text for more than 1,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
- Literati by CredoCredo Reference provides access to almost 600 reference titles covering a broad range of disciplines. Use this database to find out background information on a topic.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.