English 1159: Scholarly Sources
Scholarly Sources
What Is A Scholarly Source?
A scholarly source often refers to articles that have been peer reviewed (a process of evaluation that involves qualified individuals familiar to a particular subject area or field). These peer reviewed articles are often going to be found in academic journals examples of academic journals include Journal of the American Medical Association, Education Research Quarterly, Anthropologica. Academic journals are promote and support a variety of subjects and genres, but are often encouraged for use in research due to there level of evaluation specificity, and depth. Compared to an Internet article or a website, the information will be more thorough and provide a list of references. Below is a chart highlighting some additional characteristics.
Topic Overview
Topic Overview databases are great resources to use to gain general knowledge for narrative works, reviews or other writing assignments.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).
- Literati by CredoCredo Reference provides access to almost 600 reference titles covering a broad range of disciplines.
- ebooks (Gale)-NPOnline reference book collection for the arts, business, education, the humanities, social
sciences, and the sciences.
Subject-Specific Databases
Sometimes, general databases don't get the job done. In those cases, researchers need databases or resources that are specific to their topic. Here are some databases used by classicists.
- TOCS-INTables of contents of journals of interest to classicists.
- Perseus Digital LibraryTufts University resource that may be useful to those researching the Classics--Greek and Latin texts, in particular.
Below are some databases that focus on literature.
- Arts & Humanities Citation IndexElectronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present.
- Literary Reference Center PlusThis database upgrades Literary Reference Center. The LRC Plus Database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies
• More than 780 literary journals
• Nearly 2,800 reference books
• More than 930,000 book reviews
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories
• More than 11,000 author interviews
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes - Literature Resource Center (Gale)Provides selected full-text of biographical information on authors and critical analysis of literary texts.