ANTH 4766: Find Articles
Resource Guide for ANTH 4766
Electronic Indexes and Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,700 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals. The database features PDF content going back as far back as 1887.
- Advocate, The (Baton Rouge) America's Historical Newspapers 20th Century also referred to as Baton Rouge Advocate, TheEarliest issue: July 19, 1925
Latest issue: December 31, 1985
Issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing. - AnthrosourceAnthroSource offers access to more than a century of full-text anthropological knowledge, across the breadth and depth of the discipline.
- Dissertations -- University of New OrleansThis resource provides abstracts for all UNO and other Louisiana Universities' dissertations and includes full-text access for dissertations submitted from 1996-present with scattered coverage of pre-1996 dissertations.
- Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)An index to theses and dissertations (1861- )
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSRThe Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an electronic archive of journals, e-books, and primary source material from a range of disciplines. The UNO Library has access to all JSTOR journals (over 2,500 titles) and primary source collections, as well as selected e-books. Note: JSTOR journal archives generally begin with the first volume of the journal but do not include current volumes (from the past three to six years).
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources
from LexisNexis®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to
1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all
content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved
searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and
annotated documents. - Literati by CredoCredo Reference provides access to almost 600 reference titles covering a broad range of disciplines.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source provides full text for more than 1,200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; more than 40 news magazines, news from more than 130 newswires, more than 77 million full-text articles, and more than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts.
Newspaper Source Plus brings critical news content with ongoing updates throughout the day with its News View feature. News View also includes television and radio news transcripts from top sources. See More info for details. - PsycINFOPsycINFO contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year.
- Social Science Citation IndexThis database is the electronic version of the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. It includes indexing and abstracting from 8600 journals in all disciplines, covering 1975-present. The sources (footnotes) are included as part of each record, and can also be searched.
- SocINDEX with Full TextThis product offers informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, it provides data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 1,420 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is also included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
- Times-Picayune (1989-2019) - text onlyFull text content of the New Orleans, LA Times-Picayune newspaper.
This is the text only view of the newspaper. Content no longer added after June 30, 2019. Please go to Times-Picayune/New Orleans Advocate page images (2017-present for current content.. - Times-Picayune, 1837-2017 (Readex Historical Newspapers)Search across content or browse into issues by date. Note: Some issues published within the date range may be missing. Efforts to locate and add any such missing issues are ongoing.
- Women and Social MovementsThis website is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. It currently includes 79 document projects with more than 2,400 documents, more