Series I: McMain Magnet Secondary School
269-1: Administrative documents. Includes administrative charts, memos, policies, requirements, and admission application materials. ca. 1974-1975.
269-2: McMain Temporary Task Force documents. Includes memos, correspondence, meeting minutes, and agendas. ca. 1974.
269-3: Tulane Middle Management Center documents. Includes training handouts, questionaires, and questionaire results for the McMain Magnet Secondary School.
Series II: University Area Public Schools Development Association
269-5 Administrative documents. Includes memos, meeting minutes, agendas, bylaws and drafts of bylaws. ca. 1973-1975.
269-6 Emergency School Aid Act documents. Includes a copy of the ESAA application and proposal submitted to the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare by the UAPSDA.
269-7 Other projects and proposals. Includes correspondence, proposal and project descriptions, and attached data in support of the proposals.
Series III: League of Women Voters
269-8 Documents related to the “Financing Public Education in Orleans Parish”
study. Includes memos, proposal descriptions, report summaries,
supporting data, and League recommendations.
269-9 Analyses and reports. Includes papers on collective bargaining, cost
efficiency analysis, and a report detailing the history of the Orleans Parish
269-10 Young, Lea. Meeting minutes and correspondence of Lea Young,
member of the League of Women Voters.
Series IV: Orleans Parish Schools
269-11 Accountability workshop. Includes questionnaire, workshop curriculum,
and papers presented at the workshop by various figures involved in New
269-12 Orleans Parish Schools asbestos abatements program documents.
Includes a lease/purchase proposal submitted on behalf of the First
Commonwealth Securities Corporation.
269-13 Community advisory groups. Materials related to various community
advisory organizations, including the Community Advisory Board
(CAB), the McMain Community Advisory Council, the Advisory Committee
of the Orleans Parish School Finance Study, and the Citizen’s Advisory
Council. Includes minutes, statements of purpose, reports, and
269-14 Public Education in a Democratic Society. Materials related to the
Louisiana Committee for the Humanities sponsored workshops. Includes
correspondence, memos, accouncements, and application form.
269-15 Parent-teacher association documents. Includes a worksheet packet,
handwritten notes, memos, statements, proposals, and bylaws.
269-16 Neighborhood school board documents. Includes recommendations for
establishing local neighborhood school boards, using the Louisville Board
of Education as a model. Also includes bylaws from the Benjamin
Franklin Education Council, Theodore Roosevelt Community School
Neighborhood School Board, the Jessie R. Carter School, and the School
District of the City of Louisville Department of Community Development.
269-17 World of Work Project documents. Includes correspondence,
recommendations, reports, and proposals related to the World of Work
Project that intended to provide students with real-world vocational job
skills and information.
Series V: Publications
269-18 League of Women Voters publications: “Choosing the President” and
“Financing Education in Orleans Parish – September, 1977”.
269-19 League of Women Voters publications: “Lobbying the Louisiana
Legislature”, “School Survey Guide”, “What’s What in New Orleans
Government – 1969”, and “What’s What in New Orleans Government –
269-20 Public Affairs Research Council (PAR) publications: “Louisiana’s Election
System: A Time for Change, October 1974”, “Collective Bargaining in the
Public Sector, April 1975”, and “Resolving Louisiana’s Financial Dilemma,
269-21 Other publications: “Framework for the Future: A Citizen Task Force
Report on Education”, “The Cost of Neglect, The Value of Equity”, and
“Louisiana: Priorities for the Future”.
269-22 Photocopied reports: “An Analysis of the Louisiana State Program for
Financing the Public Schools” and “Public Schools of Choice.”
269-23 Photocopied periodicals. Photocopies of articles from various periodicals
covering the subjects of humanist approaches to managing schools, the
NASSP Model, and urban education.
269-24 Newspaper clippings. 1970s news clippings from the Times-Picayune, the
States-Item, and the Christian Science Monitor related to financing
education and urban education.
269-25 Pamphlets, newsletters, and ephemera. Education newsletters and
pamphlets, academic calendars, and mail-in voter registration cards.
269-26 Thesis. “The Knowledge Dimension of Occupational Socialization: Role
Models and Their Social Influence”, by Shirley Bradway Laska of Dillard